Skip to the main content

Home › New Zealand

New Zealand

Preview — under verificationSources retrieved 2026-11-07; facts not yet independently verified

New Zealand offers the Accredited Employer Work Visa, which ties you to one employer, job and location and cannot include a partner or children, plus residence routes and a student visa; fees start at NZD 1,540 (work), NZD 6,450 (residence) and NZD 850 (student), and the current wage threshold and Green List were not confirmed.

Summary

New Zealand offers the Accredited Employer Work Visa, which ties you to one employer, job and location and cannot include a partner or children, plus residence routes and a student visa; fees start at NZD 1,540 (work), NZD 6,450 (residence) and NZD 850 (student), and the current wage threshold and Green List were not confirmed. Page last reviewed in full: 2026-11-07. Most recent source check: 2026-11-07. A recent source check does not mean every requirement on the page was re-read on that date. Preview: the facts have not been independently verified. Not a guarantee of eligibility.

Profiles
Line length

New Zealand · Student or trainee

Per sources (unverified), students: Fee Paying Student Visa is open with an approved provider; funds and insurance are fixed in writing

A Fee Paying Student Visa needs an offer of place from an approved provider, proof of tuition for one course or one year, living costs of NZD 20,000 per year (self-funded tertiary study), medical and travel insurance, and in most cases a clean health and character record. Part-time work is limited to 25 hours a week during study and only for certain courses; full-time work is allowed only in scheduled breaks for courses of at least 120 credits. Processing is busiest from October to March.

Does this apply to me?

One tap. Nothing is sent anywhere, and there is no sign-up.

Which passport do you hold?

The routes

Requirements are written from official sources and are still under verification. Route labels read Preview — under verification until independent checking is finished, and anything not yet checked is marked NOT VERIFIED.

Fee Paying Student Visa

Preview — under verification

Open to students with an offer of place from an approved education provider, but funds and insurance must be shown and processing is busiest from October to March.

Who this is forSelf-funded or family-funded international students at an approved NZ provider

Requirements listed by the source

0 of 5 marked by you

Mark each requirement you believe you meet. The marks are your own note, kept only on this page and not saved. They do not confirm that you meet a requirement, and they are not a decision by any authority.

How long it lastsUp to 4 years, usually matching the period paid for or passport expiry, whichever is sooner.
Work allowedUp to 25 hours a week for eligible courses (for example NZQF Level 4+ full-time study); full-time in scheduled holidays for courses worth 120 credits or more; no self-employment.
Government feeNZD 850 application (published as 'from')

Source: Immigration New Zealand — Fee Paying Student Visa (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · Immigration New Zealand — Working on a student visa (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Costs we hold figures for

Fees and amounts from official sources and our own estimates. Items are listed separately. Preview figures are not independently verified, and anything not stated is shown as not published.

Tap a line to see what it is and where the figure comes from. Untick anything you do not pay and the total below follows.

Costs are shown in NZD as the cited source states them, with the unit the source gives. We do not convert currencies. A line with no stated unit or date is marked as such and is not an exact official charge.

Total of the listed costs (partial budget)NZD 850

How long it takes

Start to arrival, for someone beginning today with nothing done.

Not published by the authority

INZ states 80% of Fee Paying Student applications are processed within 5 weeks and advises applying at least 3 months before travel. Immigration New Zealand publishes processing statements as a share of applications decided within a period (stated per route), not an end-to-end timeline; employer accreditation, job check, document gathering and travel are not given a published duration.

Living in New Zealand

Food, housing, budget, transport, banking and more. Each topic opens on its own. Facts carry a check date and a source link where we hold one.

Coverage. 10 of 12 topics have at least one sourced fact. Not yet covered with a sourced fact: Phone and internet, Climate. A topic with only unknowns is not counted as researched.

Emergency

For immediate danger only. Non-emergency contacts and questions are in the topics below, not here.

  • 111 National

    Calls are free, including from a mobile out of credit; the operator asks which service you need.

    Source: New Zealand Police — 111 Emergency Services (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • 105 National

    105 is the Police non-emergency number.

    Source: New Zealand Police — 111 Emergency Services (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • 111 TXT National

    For people with hearing or speech difficulties; you must register in advance.

    Source: New Zealand Police — 111 Emergency Services (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Interpreter service on 111 calls (page does not describe): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Utilities (power, water, internet) rules and costs: no official page checked: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.

Budget assumptions. No household budget is published here: only official proof-of-funds amounts (student visa) are used, and those are visa requirements, not typical spending. Money is shown in the currency the source publishes it in, never converted or added across currencies.

FoodPackaged food must declare listed allergens; national availability and food budgets are not verified.
  • Mandatory allergen declaration Requirement National

    Packaged food labels must declare peanuts, tree nuts, fish, crustaceans, molluscs, milk, egg, soy, sesame, lupin, wheat, gluten-containing cereals and added sulphites above 10 mg/kg when used in or to make the product.

    10 mg/kg added sulphites (declaration threshold) (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Ministry for Primary Industries — Allergen declarations on food labels (page last reviewed 11 June 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-06-11; Government or public body)

  • Halal, kosher, vegetarian and vegan availability and certification authority: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • University and employer canteen provision: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Grocery cost basics: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
AccommodationLandlords can charge a bond of up to four weeks' rent and lodge it with Tenancy Services.

Housing checklist for New Zealand

Planning prompts, not a statement of local law. Check the city, property type and your circumstances against the recorded guidance. No rent or deposit price is estimated here. Ticking a box records your own check for this page visit; it does not verify compliance and is not saved with your plan.

  1. Confirm the address, person authorised to let it, occupancy conditions, contract duration and what is included. Ask which local rules apply to this property and tenancy type.

    Related recorded guidance (8)

    Maximum general bond — National; individual applicability not specified in this record

    The maximum general bond is 4 weeks' rent; the landlord lodges it with Tenancy Services.

    4 weeks of rent (maximum bond) (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Tenancy Services — Charging a general bond (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · Tenancy Services — Information for new tenants (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Bond lodging deadline and receipt — National; individual applicability not specified in this record

    The tenant must get a receipt and the bond must be lodged digitally within 23 working days.

    23 working days to lodge bond (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Tenancy Services — Information for new tenants (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Legal cover — National; applies to: Signed tenants, not flatmates

    Tenants who sign the agreement are covered by the Residential Tenancies Act 1986; flatmates are not.

    Source: Tenancy Services — Information for new tenants (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Rent example: one room, Avondale (Auckland suburb) — Avondale, Auckland (suburb); individual applicability not specified in this record

    Bond-lodgement median weekly rent for a 1-bedroom room was NZD 260 in the Avondale area (a single suburb shown by default, not a city or national figure); the tool says use it as a guide only.

    NZD 260 week, median, 1-bedroom room (as of 2026-08-31)

    Source: Tenancy Services — Market rent (bond lodgement data, 1 March to 31 August 2026 as displayed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Rent example: 2-bedroom flat, Avondale (Auckland suburb) — Avondale, Auckland (suburb); individual applicability not specified in this record

    Median weekly rent for a 2-bedroom flat was NZD 475 in the same suburb; it is an alternative example, not additive to the room figure, and not a city or national figure.

    NZD 475 week, median, 2-bedroom flat (as of 2026-08-31)

    Source: Tenancy Services — Market rent (bond lodgement data, 1 March to 31 August 2026 as displayed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Illegal or capped charges — National; individual applicability not specified in this record

    A landlord or property manager may not charge a letting fee, a bond above four weeks' rent, or rent in advance above two weeks.

    2 weeks of rent in advance (maximum) (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Consumer Protection — Preparing to rent (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Bond receipt check — National; individual applicability not specified in this record

    Confirm the bond has been lodged with Tenancy Services; expect a bond letter within six weeks, and never sign a blank bond refund form.

    Source: Consumer Protection — Preparing to rent (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Before signing — National; individual applicability not specified in this record

    Read the agreement, record the property's condition with the landlord, keep a signed copy and receipts; tenants can search Ministry of Justice records for Tenancy Tribunal orders against a landlord.

    Source: Tenancy Services — Information for new tenants (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  2. Ask for the deposit, rent in advance, refund conditions and a payment receipt in writing. Verify the recipient independently. Check the applicable local deposit scheme or limits; no local amount is inferred here.

    Related recorded guidance (4)

    Bond lodging deadline and receipt — National; individual applicability not specified in this record

    The tenant must get a receipt and the bond must be lodged digitally within 23 working days.

    23 working days to lodge bond (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Tenancy Services — Information for new tenants (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Illegal or capped charges — National; individual applicability not specified in this record

    A landlord or property manager may not charge a letting fee, a bond above four weeks' rent, or rent in advance above two weeks.

    2 weeks of rent in advance (maximum) (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Consumer Protection — Preparing to rent (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Bond receipt check — National; individual applicability not specified in this record

    Confirm the bond has been lodged with Tenancy Services; expect a bond letter within six weeks, and never sign a blank bond refund form.

    Source: Consumer Protection — Preparing to rent (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Before signing — National; individual applicability not specified in this record

    Read the agreement, record the property's condition with the landlord, keep a signed copy and receipts; tenants can search Ministry of Justice records for Tenancy Tribunal orders against a landlord.

    Source: Tenancy Services — Information for new tenants (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  3. Agree who arranges and pays for utilities. Record the property condition, inventory and meter readings where relevant, and retain the agreed handover record.

    No related sourced local rule is recorded for this step. Confirm it with the relevant authority or institution; a missing entry does not mean there is no requirement.

  4. Confirm whether the address can be used for your required local registration, which housing documents you need, and the applicable deadline with the authority. Check employer or student accommodation conditions separately.

    Related recorded guidance (1)

    KiwiSaver eligibility — National; applies to: Employer-based KiwiSaver; temporary-visa holders listed as not eligible on the employer page

    IRD's employer eligibility page lists those eligible for employer-based KiwiSaver as aged 18 to 65, living or normally living in New Zealand, and citizens, people entitled to live here indefinitely, Australian citizens, or NZ or Australian residence permit holders; it lists holders of temporary, visitor, work or student visas as not eligible. IRD's joining page says employer auto-enrolment applies to employees aged 18 to 65 on contracts of more than 28 days and gives no age limit for joining directly through a provider; it does not address visa status, so whether a temporary-visa holder may join a provider directly is NOT VERIFIED.

    Source: Inland Revenue — Check employee eligibility for KiwiSaver (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · Inland Revenue — Joining KiwiSaver as an employee (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  5. Keep the advert, contract, receipts and messages. Find the local tenancy authority, consumer body or official fraud-reporting channel that handles your particular issue before paying further disputed charges.

    Related recorded guidance (1)

    Before signing — National; individual applicability not specified in this record

    Read the agreement, record the property's condition with the landlord, keep a signed copy and receipts; tenants can search Ministry of Justice records for Tenancy Tribunal orders against a landlord.

    Source: Tenancy Services — Information for new tenants (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Maximum general bond Requirement National

    The maximum general bond is 4 weeks' rent; the landlord lodges it with Tenancy Services.

    4 weeks of rent (maximum bond) (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Tenancy Services — Charging a general bond (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · Tenancy Services — Information for new tenants (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Bond lodging deadline and receipt Requirement National

    The tenant must get a receipt and the bond must be lodged digitally within 23 working days.

    23 working days to lodge bond (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Tenancy Services — Information for new tenants (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Legal cover Requirement National

    Tenants who sign the agreement are covered by the Residential Tenancies Act 1986; flatmates are not.

    Applies to: Signed tenants, not flatmates

    Source: Tenancy Services — Information for new tenants (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Rent example: one room, Avondale (Auckland suburb) Estimate Avondale, Auckland (suburb)

    Bond-lodgement median weekly rent for a 1-bedroom room was NZD 260 in the Avondale area (a single suburb shown by default, not a city or national figure); the tool says use it as a guide only.

    NZD 260 week, median, 1-bedroom room (as of 2026-08-31)

    Source: Tenancy Services — Market rent (bond lodgement data, 1 March to 31 August 2026 as displayed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Rent example: 2-bedroom flat, Avondale (Auckland suburb) Estimate Avondale, Auckland (suburb)

    Median weekly rent for a 2-bedroom flat was NZD 475 in the same suburb; it is an alternative example, not additive to the room figure, and not a city or national figure.

    NZD 475 week, median, 2-bedroom flat (as of 2026-08-31)

    Source: Tenancy Services — Market rent (bond lodgement data, 1 March to 31 August 2026 as displayed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Illegal or capped charges Requirement National

    A landlord or property manager may not charge a letting fee, a bond above four weeks' rent, or rent in advance above two weeks.

    2 weeks of rent in advance (maximum) (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Consumer Protection — Preparing to rent (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Bond receipt check Editorial National

    Confirm the bond has been lodged with Tenancy Services; expect a bond letter within six weeks, and never sign a blank bond refund form.

    Source: Consumer Protection — Preparing to rent (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Before signing Editorial National

    Read the agreement, record the property's condition with the landlord, keep a signed copy and receipts; tenants can search Ministry of Justice records for Tenancy Tribunal orders against a landlord.

    Source: Tenancy Services — Information for new tenants (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • City rent ranges (official dataset not yet verified): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Student and shared housing rules: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Rent increase rules (not on the official pages checked): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Common rental scams (official warning page): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
BudgetNo sourced household budget; only the visa funds rule is shown.
  • Student visa living-costs funds Requirement National

    Self-funded tertiary students must show NZD 20,000 per year; this is a visa funds test, not a spending estimate.

    NZD 20,000 year (as of 2026-11-07)

    Applies to: Fee Paying Student Visa applicants, tertiary or other non-compulsory study, 1 year or more

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Fee Paying Student Visa (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Typical monthly cost by city (Stats NZ living-costs releases surfaced but not yet verified; no budget stated): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
TransportImmigration New Zealand says you can generally drive on an overseas licence for your first 18 months, then must convert; the NZTA pages that would confirm this could not be read.
  • Overseas licence time limit Requirement National

    Newcomers can generally drive on an overseas licence for their first 18 months in New Zealand, after which they must convert to a New Zealand licence. This is stated by Immigration New Zealand; the NZTA pages returned only a bot-protection page, so NZTA confirmation is NOT VERIFIED.

    18 months on overseas licence (per Immigration NZ) (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Getting around in New Zealand (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Licence not in English Requirement National

    If the overseas licence is not in English you need an accurate English translation; NZTA lists authorised translation services.

    Applies to: Overseas licences not in English

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Getting around in New Zealand (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • NZTA confirmation of the 18-month rule (NZTA pages unreadable: NOT VERIFIED): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Licence conversion process, tests and fees (NZTA pages unreadable: NOT VERIFIED): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • City public transport costs: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
BankingInland Revenue links IRD number applications to a bank account or a due-diligence form.
  • IRD number for new workers and students Requirement National

    From overseas or as a new arrival on a work or student visa you need a functioning NZ bank account or an IR997 customer due-diligence form; resident visa holders and Australian passport holders do not.

    Applies to: Applicants for an IRD number

    Source: Inland Revenue — Coming to work or study in New Zealand (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • IRD number fee Requirement National

    The IRD page states there is no fee to apply for an IRD number; the number stays the same for life.

    Source: Inland Revenue — IRD numbers for individuals (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Working without tax code Requirement National

    Working without an IRD number or tax code means tax at the highest no-notification rate.

    Source: Inland Revenue — Coming to work or study in New Zealand (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Opening an account Requirement National

    Banks verify identity under anti-money-laundering rules; some let you open an account from your home country depending on your visa and arrival timing, so check with the bank. You may need an IRD number, and banks often verify identity and permanent address on activation after arrival.

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Banking in New Zealand (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Credit rating Editorial National

    To get a credit card or loan you need a New Zealand credit rating; ask banks what evidence they accept.

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Banking in New Zealand (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Border Cash Report Requirement National

    Arriving with more than NZD 10,000 in cash or equivalent requires a Border Cash Report.

    NZD 10,000 cash carried on arrival (report threshold) (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Banking in New Zealand (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Financial advice and lenders Requirement National

    Only licensed financial advisers may give financial advice; not all lenders are banks and some charge very high interest.

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Banking in New Zealand (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Bank account fees (page lists none): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • IRD processing time (IRD page states none: NOT VERIFIED): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
Phone and internetNot sourced so far.
  • SIM and internet registration rules (no official page checked): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
HealthcareStudent visa holders must carry medical and travel insurance; public eligibility is summarised from Immigration New Zealand.
  • Student insurance Requirement National

    Medical and travel insurance is required from course start until visa expiry. The Fee Paying Student page states that PhD students are exempt from this insurance requirement; it says nothing read here about PhD students' dependants or work rights (the work-rights page is a separate source).

    Applies to: Fee Paying Student Visa holders

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Fee Paying Student Visa (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Public funding: residents Requirement National

    For most people with resident visas who live in New Zealand, health and disability services are funded; some residents may get only a limited range of services.

    Applies to: Resident visa holders

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Who can get public health care (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Public funding: temporary visa holders Requirement National

    Holders of visitor, student or work visas can in general not get publicly funded health care; check the conditions of your specific visa. The page states no work-visa-length criterion and refers to Health NZ for exact rules.

    Applies to: Temporary visa holders

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Who can get public health care (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • ACC for temporary visa holders Requirement National

    ACC usually covers treatment and rehabilitation for residents and temporary visa holders injured in New Zealand, as summarised by Immigration New Zealand (the ACC pages returned no text).

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Who can get public health care (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Proof of eligibility Requirement National

    Eligible people must show their provider proof such as an eVisa letter or may have to pay; temporary visa holders ineligible for public funding cover their own maternity care.

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Who can get public health care (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Exact Health NZ eligibility criteria such as work-visa length (healthnz.govt.nz and tewhatuora.govt.nz block robots, health.govt.nz errored: NOT VERIFIED): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • ACC rules from ACC itself (acc.co.nz pages returned no text: NOT VERIFIED): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Healthcare enrolment with a GP: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
ArrivalApply for an IRD number as soon as you can after arriving, and give your employer your tax code.
  • IRD number timing Requirement National

    You can apply before travelling or after arriving; apply as a new arrival before your visa travel date expires.

    Source: Inland Revenue — Coming to work or study in New Zealand (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • KiwiSaver eligibility Requirement National

    IRD's employer eligibility page lists those eligible for employer-based KiwiSaver as aged 18 to 65, living or normally living in New Zealand, and citizens, people entitled to live here indefinitely, Australian citizens, or NZ or Australian residence permit holders; it lists holders of temporary, visitor, work or student visas as not eligible. IRD's joining page says employer auto-enrolment applies to employees aged 18 to 65 on contracts of more than 28 days and gives no age limit for joining directly through a provider; it does not address visa status, so whether a temporary-visa holder may join a provider directly is NOT VERIFIED.

    Applies to: Employer-based KiwiSaver; temporary-visa holders listed as not eligible on the employer page

    Source: Inland Revenue — Check employee eligibility for KiwiSaver (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · Inland Revenue — Joining KiwiSaver as an employee (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • KiwiSaver opt-out window Requirement National

    People automatically enrolled by an employer can opt out from day 14 to day 56 after starting work, and must opt out again for each new employment; late opt-out up to 3 months after the first contribution is accepted only in set cases.

    56 days: last day of opt-out window after starting work (as of 2026-11-07)

    Applies to: Automatically enrolled employees

    Source: Inland Revenue — Opting out of KiwiSaver (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Newcomer checklist from New Zealand Now (site blocks automated reading): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Who is automatically enrolled (opt-out page does not list criteria): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
CommunityOfficial scam-spotting guidance exists; language and integration services are not sourced.
  • Scam warning signs Editorial National

    Consumer Protection lists unexpected contact, pressure to act urgently, requests for money, passwords or codes, upfront fees and offers too good to be true as scam signs; report to Netsafe, Police and your bank.

    Source: Consumer Protection — Identify a scam (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • FMA investment helpline Requirement National

    The FMA Helpline for checking whether an investment offer is legitimate is 0800 434 567.

    Source: Consumer Protection — Identify a scam (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Consumer law Requirement National

    The Consumer Guarantees Act and Fair Trading Act are the key consumer laws listed; the page links a Consumer Rights Finder and a how-to-complain section but the steps were not on the text read.

    Source: Consumer Protection — General help (consumer law overview) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Language support and integration services (official page not yet verified): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Rental-specific scam warning (Consumer Protection rental page describes none: NOT VERIFIED): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
ClimateNot sourced so far.
  • MetService seasonal guidance (not yet verified): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
FamilyThe AEWV does not carry a partner or children; residence visas can include them.
  • AEWV family Requirement National

    Partner and dependent children cannot be included on an AEWV, though family visa support may be possible.

    Applies to: AEWV holders

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Accredited Employer Work Visa (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Residence family Requirement National

    Partners and dependent children aged 24 or younger can be included in Straight to Residence applications with proof of relationship.

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Straight to Residence Visa (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • School enrolment eligibility Requirement National

    People aged 5 to 19 enrol free at state and state-integrated schools if they are domestic students (citizens and residents, including Australian citizens); non-domestic students may enrol as international students but must pay. The page does not address children of work or student visa holders specifically.

    Applies to: Children of newcomers: check visa status with the school

    Source: Ministry of Education — Eligibility to enrol in New Zealand schools (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Schooling fees for international students (amount not on page): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Childcare official resources: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Partner work rights on a student visa: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.

More guidance for New Zealand

Source-linked guidance, its scope and remaining questions.

Additional guidance for New Zealand. Source-linked means a reference is recorded, not that every claim has been independently verified. Check the scope and dates before relying on it.

Official task directory

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Immigration directory

    Immigration New Zealand's homepage links visit, study, work and live visa tasks, process-to-apply guidance, a visa lookup and contact details. Authority: Immigration New Zealand (government agency).

    Source: Immigration New Zealand (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

  • Other task owners

    Employment New Zealand (MBIE) explains employment rights; Inland Revenue is the tax agency with myIR; WorkSafe NZ is the main workplace health and safety regulator; business.govt.nz bundles government guidance for small businesses.

    Source: Employment New Zealand (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified) · Inland Revenue (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified) · WorkSafe New Zealand (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified) · business.govt.nz (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Dietary planning with regulator evidence

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in. No venue is claimed allergen-safe.

  • Declarations and statements

    Listed allergens must be on the label if the food contains them or if they were used in making it. Advisory statements are mandatory for specific foods (for example unpasteurised milk products) with no set wording; the page does not address voluntary 'may contain' statements. Governing rule: Standard 1.2.3 of the Food Standards Code.

    Source: MPI: Allergen declarations, warnings and advisory statements on food labels (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Newcomer banking and account guide

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in. No bank or product is recommended.

  • Documents for students

    Education New Zealand lists passport details, proof of enrolment, proof of address (check if a New Zealand address is required) and tax identification numbers; some banks only open accounts for students with a visa valid six months or more, and some let you open online before arrival. The page does not mention an IRD number.

    Source: Study with New Zealand: Banking in New Zealand as an international student (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Family-schooling pathways

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Domestic students

    Every person aged 5 to 19 can enrol for free at state and state-integrated schools if a domestic student (New Zealand citizens or residents, including Australian citizens; approved exchange students for the programme length).

    Source: Ministry of Education: Eligibility to enrol in New Zealand schools (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

  • International students

    International students must pay to enrol; schools can check visa status with INZ VisaView. The page does not cover children of temporary visa holders directly.

    Source: Ministry of Education: Eligibility to enrol in New Zealand schools (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Weather and heat-work resources

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • WorkSafe guide

    WorkSafe's guide (last updated 13 December 2019 per the page) covers identifying, controlling and monitoring heat risks for PCBUs; it states heat illness can be fatal and mentions no legal maximum temperature.

    Source: WorkSafe NZ: Working safely in extreme temperatures (checked 2026-11-08; document dated 2019-12-13; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

  • MetService heat alerts

    A trial scheme since 2021 with Civil Defence and Health partners: alerts run early December to late February, covered 46 towns and cities in 2025-26, target 'top end' heat and use region-specific thresholds.

    Source: MetService: Heat alerts (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Local integration and language resources

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • English learning options

    INZ describes ESOL courses for everyday, academic and business English from different organisations, with full/part-time choices. Some residence secondary applicants must pre-purchase tuition; those who have pre-purchased can use approved courses at no additional cost. This is not a blanket free-class entitlement or immigration-advice service.

    Source: www.immigration.govt.nz — English learning options (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact independently verified)

Occupation titles and codes

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • ANZSCO and NOL scope

    INZ says ANZSCO is used for most AEWV/job-check applications and all SMC/other temporary applications; some NOL occupations are recognised for AEWV as transition proceeds. Skill levels describe occupations, not an individual’s personal skill. Match actual tasks and responsibilities rather than assuming job-title equivalence.

    Source: www.immigration.govt.nz — ANZSCO and NOL scope (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact independently verified)

  • ANZSCO 1.3 code 321111, automotive electrician

    Immigration New Zealand's operations manual appendix lists 321111 Automotive Electrician at skill level 3 in the immigration view of ANZSCO version 1.3; the manual page shows an effective date of 24 August 2026. This is a narrow vehicle-related electrical trade, not a code for every electrician, and it is not the NOL edition. Other listed titles are different occupations: Electrical Engineering Draftsperson (312311, skill level 2), Electronic Equipment Trades Worker (342313, skill level 3) and Lift Mechanic (341113). Appearing in the appendix does not satisfy any other residence condition. This is a classification entry, not a licensing decision or recognition of a foreign qualification, so do not substitute it for a general electrician.

    Source: Immigration New Zealand — Operations Manual, Appendix 23 (ANZSCO 1.3 occupation list) (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Gross pay and take-home uncertainty

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in. No calculator is offered.

  • Pay wording

    INZ's AEWV page cites pay thresholds as multiples or levels of the median wage but does not say whether the rate is gross or net and links to a separate 'Wage rates for work visas' page for current rates.

    Source: INZ: Accredited Employer Work Visa (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Study-related work categories

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Student visa work

    With a student visa you may be allowed part-time work up to 25 hours a week during study periods; full-time during scheduled breaks if tertiary conditions are met; work-integrated placements normally get conditions allowing the work; no self-employment; training schemes and micro-credential study do not qualify. Rights depend on the visa conditions on the eVisa.

    Source: INZ: Working on a student visa (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Post-study transition windows

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Post-Study Work Visa

    A degree at level 7 or higher (or an eligible lower qualification) with full-time study in New Zealand of at least 30 weeks; length follows study time (master's or doctorate: up to 3 years). The page does not say whether work is allowed while an application is pending.

    Source: INZ: Staying to work after finishing your study (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Tax residence versus immigration residence

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in. No personal tax determination.

  • Separate concepts

    IRD says immigration status determines whether you can stay and what you can do, while tax residency determines which NZ taxes you pay; residency can arise from more than 183 days in any 12 months or a permanent place of abode. Use IR886 or a tax professional for a definitive answer.

    Source: IRD: Tax residency status for individuals (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Social-security coordination

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Pacific pension portability scope

    Work and Income’s cited Pacific page concerns people already entitled to NZSuper or Veteran’s Pension intending residence for more than52weeks in listed Pacific places. It says no other NZ benefits/pensions are paid under that arrangement. This page alone does not establish the separate bilateral agreement country list or automatic eligibility for a newcomer.

    Source: Work and Income — Pacific pension portability scope (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact independently verified)

Pension portability and withdrawal

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • KiwiSaver

    After living overseas (not Australia) for one year you can take most KiwiSaver savings; government contributions cannot be withdrawn. If you move permanently to Australia you can transfer savings to an Australian super scheme, optionally. No promise that all contributions are refundable is made.

    Source: IRD: Getting my KiwiSaver funds when I move overseas (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Women-specific workplace and travel resources

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Workplace rights

    Employment New Zealand says migrant workers have the same minimum employment rights as New Zealand workers and exploitation can be reported to Employment New Zealand.

    Source: Employment NZ: Resolving problems (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Local conduct and religious-site rules

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Outdoor access and Maori cultural sites

    The government Outdoor Access Code distinguishes permission for private/Maori land from respectful tikanga protocols. Respect wahi tapu and comply with rahui and local practices; Maori land generally lacks public access rights. This is land-access/cultural guidance, not a universal religious-site law or national dress rule.

    Source: www.herengaanuku.govt.nz — Outdoor access and Maori cultural sites (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact independently verified)

Personal medicine import

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in. No medication-specific advice.

  • Customs rules

    Non-controlled prescription medicines: carry a prescription copy or doctor's letter, original packaging, up to three months' supply (six for oral contraceptives); declare if more or not prescribed to you or family. Controlled drugs: declare, original packaging, up to one month's supply with a prescription or letter; pseudoephedrine is a controlled drug.

    Source: New Zealand Customs: Medicines (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified) · Ministry of Health: Bringing medicines into New Zealand (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Customs rules for household goods

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Concession criteria

    Customs says you might qualify if moving to NZ for the first time or returning after 21 months or more; you need a residence document; effects must have been personally owned and used before; new items, vehicles and commercial items are excluded; student visa holders do not qualify (study items allowed). Other cases pay duty and GST, with depreciation for used goods.

    Source: New Zealand Customs: Household effects (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

  • Biosecurity

    MPI may inspect household goods and personal effects; contents must be declared and documented.

    Source: MPI: Household goods and personal effects importing to NZ (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Companion-animal relocation

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Government import health standard

    MPI's 2021 import health standard for cats and dogs is valid until 1 April 2027; a 2026 standard comes into force on 1 July 2026 with a nine-month transition. Model certificates exist for Category 1 (Australia), 2 (rabies-free countries) and 3 (rabies absent or well controlled).

    Source: MPI: Requirement documents for bringing pets to NZ (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Death and repatriation procedures

Scope: Death occurring in New Zealand, including the local steps relevant to newcomers; not the separate citizen-death-overseas process.

  • First steps after a death in New Zealand

    For an unexpected death, New Zealand Government guidance says to call 111 and ask for an ambulance and police. For an expected death at home, contact the doctor; if the person dies in a hospital, hospice or rest home, alert the staff on duty. These are local first steps, not the separate process for a New Zealand citizen dying overseas.

    Source: New Zealand Government: what to do when someone dies (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact independently verified)

  • Registering a local death

    A funeral director registers the death with Births, Deaths and Marriages. If not using a funeral director, the person organising the funeral must register it; the government registration page specifies submitting the form within 3 working days of burial or cremation. It lists a cause-of-death certificate from the doctor or nurse, or the coroner’s release authorisation, plus form BDM28. Registration is free; ordering a death certificate has a separate fee. This does not determine repatriation documents or a coroner’s timeline.

    Source: New Zealand Government: registering a death (checked 2026-11-08; document dated 2024-05-22; Government or public body; page partly read; fact independently verified)

  • Customs step for sending remains out of New Zealand

    For human remains being sent from New Zealand for interment, Customs says the freight forwarder or airline will usually complete the required Customs formalities and an export entry is not required. That is only the New Zealand Customs step: it does not waive airline, health, coroner or destination-country requirements, or establish a total repatriation cost.

    Source: New Zealand Customs: sending remains or ashes out of New Zealand (checked 2026-11-08; document dated 2025-07-09; Government or public body; page partly read; fact independently verified)

Unpaid-wage dispute processes

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in. Recovery is never guaranteed.

  • Resolution steps

    Employment New Zealand lists talking to the employer, early resolution, mediation, personal grievances and Labour Inspectorate complaints; the page does not mention unpaid wages specifically, any deadline or any outcome guarantee.

    Source: Employment NZ: Resolving problems (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Exit and re-entry permission

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Resident visa travel condition

    A resident visa has an expiry date for travel: after that date the holder cannot return on it; a Permanent Resident Visa lets you travel in and out indefinitely. The page does not mention employer consent.

    Source: INZ: Becoming a permanent resident of New Zealand (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Travel to neighbouring jurisdictions

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Australia link

    KiwiSaver savings can be transferred if moving permanently to Australia; residence, citizenship and travel-document rights remain separate and Australian visa rules could not be read for this country.

    Source: IRD: Getting my KiwiSaver funds when I move overseas (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Lawful remote work and self-employment

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Visitor visa

    For visitor visas applied for on or after 27 January 2025, remote work for overseas employers or clients is allowed with no cap, but not work for a New Zealand employer or work that requires being in New Zealand; tax may still be owed.

    Source: INZ: Working remotely in New Zealand on a visitor visa (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Permanent residence versus citizenship

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Separate applications

    A Permanent Resident Visa has no conditions; resident visas allow travel only until an expiry date; after about 5 years as a resident many people may be eligible for citizenship, which is a separate application and does not require a Permanent Resident Visa first.

    Source: INZ: Becoming a permanent resident of New Zealand (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Dependants ageing out or changing status

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Age limits by visa

    Resident visa: dependent if 24 and under, single, and for ages 21 to 24 financially reliant; student and visitor visas: 19 and under; dependent children are not eligible for work visas. A child past the limit needs their own visa.

    Source: INZ: Bringing children (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Dual-national and multiple-passport cases

Scope: New Zealand. Informational only, not legal, tax or immigration advice. Where a page was a stub or blocked, the point is shown as not verified rather than filled in.

  • Citizen travel on foreign passports

    INZ says entry as a NZ citizen needs a NZ passport or a foreign passport with a NewZealand Citizen Endorsement. The endorsement is not a visa and is linked to that passport. Multiple passports can be used on different travel legs, subject to the other country’s rules; no strongest-passport assumption.

    Source: www.immigration.govt.nz — Citizen travel on foreign passports (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact independently verified)

Topics with unanswered questions

Some guidance is incomplete or has not been confirmed. Missing information does not mean a rule, service or route is unavailable. Check the relevant authority for your circumstances.

  • Official task directory
  • Directory language and accessibility details
  • Transport and licence eligibility by status
  • Gross pay and take-home uncertainty
  • Social-security coordination
  • Disability and reasonable-adjustment resources
  • LGBTQ traveller legal-context brief
  • Women-specific workplace and travel resources
  • Vaccination and public-health entry evidence
  • Companion-animal relocation
  • Births, marriages and civil changes
  • Death and repatriation procedures
  • Termination, notice and end-of-service rights
  • Occupational injury claim pathways
  • Refusal, review and appeal options
  • Archived evidence snapshots
  • Plain-language terminology
Illustration of the Sky Tower in AucklandIllustration of the Church of the Good Shepherd at Lake TekapoIllustration of Mitre Peak at Milford SoundIllustration of the Wellington Cable Car

We do not yet publish an eligibility checker for this track. The route pages above carry the full requirement list from the official source.

What you need

Official websites — and what each one is for

  • Immigration New Zealand — Visa information and applications (Immigration New Zealand (MBIE) · the only lawful place to do this; checked 2026-11-07)
  • Inland Revenue — IRD number and tax (Inland Revenue; checked 2026-11-07)
  • Tenancy Services — Bond and tenancy rules (MBIE; checked 2026-11-07)

Documents, in the order to get them

  1. Police certificate — issued by Police of each country of citizenship and each country lived in 12+ months in last 10 years (residence visas)
    Under 6 months old when applying.
    Immigration New Zealand — Straight to Residence Visa (checked 2026-11-07)
  2. Chest X-ray and medical exam — issued by INZ-approved panel doctor
    Evidence under 3 months old when received.
    Immigration New Zealand — Straight to Residence Visa (checked 2026-11-07) · Immigration New Zealand — Fee Paying Student Visa (checked 2026-11-07)
  3. English test result — issued by Accepted test provider
    No more than 2 years old.
    Immigration New Zealand — Accredited Employer Work Visa (checked 2026-11-07)

Health insurance

Medical

Somewhere to live

Getting there

Money

What we could not source

  • Current AEWV wage threshold (page checked did not state it).
  • Current Green List: only an archived edition (effective 26 March 2025) was readable; no claim is made about which trades are or are not on the current list.
  • PhD student work rights beyond the stated rule (no hour limit, but must study full-time if working full-time) and PhD dependants: not yet verified.
  • Skilled Migrant experience figures (page gives two versions).
  • Immigration New Zealand fee levies and the May 2026 Fees Guide could not be read.
  • Stats NZ migration data not yet verified.

Quick answers by profile (preview, not verified)

New Zealand for student or trainee: can I go?

Per sources (unverified), students: Fee Paying Student Visa is open with an approved provider; funds and insurance are fixed in writing

New Zealand for skilled tradesperson: can I go?

Trades: a route exists, but only through an accredited employer; few trades are on the Green List residence fast track

New Zealand for employed professional: can I go?

Professionals: AEWV with an accredited employer, and Green List Tier 1 roles can go straight to residence