Skip to the main content

Home › Qatar

Qatar

Preview — under verificationSources retrieved 2026-11-07; facts not yet independently verified

Most people enter Qatar for employer-led work; there is no points system or job-seeker route found in the sources opened. A separate self-sponsored track (entrepreneur, executive) exists but the executive route is only for people already living in Qatar. Procedural pages from the Ministry of Interior, Hukoomi and Ministry of Labour could not be read, so fees, documents and processing times for the main work route are not yet verified.

Summary

Most people enter Qatar for employer-led work; there is no points system or job-seeker route found in the sources opened. A separate self-sponsored track (entrepreneur, executive) exists but the executive route is only for people already living in Qatar. Procedural pages from the Ministry of Interior, Hukoomi and Ministry of Labour could not be read, so fees, documents and processing times for the main work route are not yet verified. Page last reviewed in full: 2026-11-07. Most recent source check: 2026-11-07. A recent source check does not mean every requirement on the page was re-read on that date. Preview: the facts have not been independently verified. Not a guarantee of eligibility.

Profiles
Line length

Qatar · Skilled tradesperson

Employer-led contract work; worker-side protections are sourced, entry procedure is not yet verified.

A skilled-trades worker enters on an employer's contract authenticated by the Ministry of Labour. Charging the worker recruitment fees is prohibited, and a national minimum wage applies to all nationalities. Bad news: the sources we could open do not give the entry-visa documents, fee or processing time, no official shortage-occupation list was found, and the health-insurance duty in Law No. 22 of 2021 was described in a December 2023 ILO factsheet as not enforced against employers (2026 position NOT VERIFIED). Leaving without notice can bar return to work in Qatar for one year.

Does this apply to me?

One tap. Nothing is sent anywhere, and there is no sign-up.

Which passport do you hold?

The routes

Requirements are written from official sources and are still under verification. Route labels read Preview — under verification until independent checking is finished, and anything not yet checked is marked NOT VERIFIED.

Employer-sponsored work (private sector)Work contract authenticated by the Ministry of Labour; residence permit under Law No. 21 of 2015

Preview — under verification

Employment is employer-led: the employer builds the contract in the Ministry of Labour digital system and has it authenticated. The entry-visa and residence-permit procedure itself could not be read, so its documents, fee and processing time are not published here.

Who this is forWorkers in construction, trades, hospitality and other private-sector jobs under Labour Law No. 14 of 2004 who hold a job offer from a Qatar employer

Requirements listed by the source

0 of 3 marked by you

Mark each requirement you believe you meet. The marks are your own note, kept only on this page and not saved. They do not confirm that you meet a requirement, and they are not a decision by any authority.

Work allowedYou work for the employer named on the authenticated contract. A worker may change employer without a No Objection Certificate by applying through the Ministry of Labour system: notice one month (two years or less with current employer) or two months (more than two years). Most workers need no exit permit; a narrow set of senior roles, capped at 5% of an institution's staff, may.

Source: ILO FAIRWAY factsheet: Regulatory framework governing migrant workers in Qatar (updated Dec 2023; intergovernmental summary, not the Ministry text) (checked 2026-11-07; Other publisher) · ILO/Ministry of Labour guide: procedure to change jobs in Qatar (no publication date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Other publisher) · ILO/Ministry of Labour guide for private sector workers under Labour Law No. 14 of 2004 (no publication date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Other publisher)

Costs we hold figures for

Fees and amounts from official sources and our own estimates. Items are listed separately. Preview figures are not independently verified, and anything not stated is shown as not published.

Tap a line to see what it is and where the figure comes from. Untick anything you do not pay and the total below follows.

Not verified: no cost lines are published yet

How long it takes

Start to arrival, for someone beginning today with nothing done.

Not published by the authority

No authority-published end-to-end timeline was found; processing times NOT VERIFIED (not yet verified — official source could not be read: Hukoomi / MOI).

Living in Qatar

Food, housing, budget, transport, banking and more. Each topic opens on its own. Facts carry a check date and a source link where we hold one.

Coverage. 12 of 12 topics have at least one sourced fact. Not yet covered with a sourced fact: none. A topic with only unknowns is not counted as researched.

Emergency

For immediate danger only. Non-emergency contacts and questions are in the topics below, not here.

Budget assumptions. No household budget could be sourced from an official page; none is stated. Money is shown in the currency the source publishes it in, never converted or added across currencies.

FoodNo official source on halal, vegetarian or allergen labelling was opened.
  • Food allowance in the minimum wage Requirement National

    Where the employer does not supply food directly, a food allowance is added to the minimum wage.

    QAR 300 month minimum (as of 2021-03-20)

    Applies to: Workers covered by the minimum wage whose employer does not provide food

    Source: ILO news: Qatar's new minimum wage enters into force (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2021-03-19; Other publisher)

  • Halal labelling authority and rules: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Vegetarian and vegan availability: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Allergen labelling rules: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Employer canteen standards: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
AccommodationEmployer housing or a housing allowance is the only housing rule found.

Housing checklist for Qatar

Planning prompts, not a statement of local law. Check the city, property type and your circumstances against the recorded guidance. No rent or deposit price is estimated here. Ticking a box records your own check for this page visit; it does not verify compliance and is not saved with your plan.

  1. Confirm the address, person authorised to let it, occupancy conditions, contract duration and what is included. Ask which local rules apply to this property and tenancy type.

    Related recorded guidance (3)

    Housing allowance — National; applies to: Workers covered by the minimum wage whose employer does not provide housing

    Added to the minimum wage where suitable housing is not provided.

    QAR 500 month minimum (as of 2021-03-20)

    Source: ILO news: Qatar's new minimum wage enters into force (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2021-03-19; Other publisher)

    Electricity and water account for a tenant — National (KAHRAMAA service area); applies to: Tenants opening a utility account

    KAHRAMAA lists a service application, the tenant's and owner's QIDs and the rental contract for renting a home or apartment. Register through the km.qa customer portal. Connection-fee tables on km.qa are for building connections by owners and are not stated here as tenant costs.

    Source: KAHRAMAA: FAQs (electricity and water; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    National minimum basic wage — National; individual applicability not specified in this record

    Applies to all workers of all nationalities in all sectors including domestic workers; a committee reviews wages at least annually, so the current figure may differ.

    QAR 1,000 month (as of 2021-03-20)

    Source: ILO news: Qatar's new minimum wage enters into force (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2021-03-19; Other publisher) · ILO FAIRWAY factsheet: Regulatory framework governing migrant workers in Qatar (updated Dec 2023; intergovernmental summary, not the Ministry text) (checked 2026-11-07; Other publisher)

  2. Ask for the deposit, rent in advance, refund conditions and a payment receipt in writing. Verify the recipient independently. Check the applicable local deposit scheme or limits; no local amount is inferred here.

    Related recorded guidance (2)

    Utility deposit — National (KAHRAMAA service area); individual applicability not specified in this record

    KAHRAMAA says a deposit refund follows final dues when an account is closed, on submitting the original deposit receipt. The page states no deposit amount, so none is given.

    Source: KAHRAMAA: FAQs (electricity and water; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Paying utility bills — National (KAHRAMAA service area); individual applicability not specified in this record

    KAHRAMAA bills can be paid by IVR line 991, its website, Ooredoo or QNB machines, local banks, e-Government or its app; online payment carries no extra charge and partial online payment is not accepted.

    Source: KAHRAMAA: FAQs (electricity and water; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  3. Agree who arranges and pays for utilities. Record the property condition, inventory and meter readings where relevant, and retain the agreed handover record.

    Related recorded guidance (3)

    Electricity and water account for a tenant — National (KAHRAMAA service area); applies to: Tenants opening a utility account

    KAHRAMAA lists a service application, the tenant's and owner's QIDs and the rental contract for renting a home or apartment. Register through the km.qa customer portal. Connection-fee tables on km.qa are for building connections by owners and are not stated here as tenant costs.

    Source: KAHRAMAA: FAQs (electricity and water; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Utility deposit — National (KAHRAMAA service area); individual applicability not specified in this record

    KAHRAMAA says a deposit refund follows final dues when an account is closed, on submitting the original deposit receipt. The page states no deposit amount, so none is given.

    Source: KAHRAMAA: FAQs (electricity and water; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

    Paying utility bills — National (KAHRAMAA service area); individual applicability not specified in this record

    KAHRAMAA bills can be paid by IVR line 991, its website, Ooredoo or QNB machines, local banks, e-Government or its app; online payment carries no extra charge and partial online payment is not accepted.

    Source: KAHRAMAA: FAQs (electricity and water; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  4. Confirm whether the address can be used for your required local registration, which housing documents you need, and the applicable deadline with the authority. Check employer or student accommodation conditions separately.

    No related sourced local rule is recorded for this step. Confirm it with the relevant authority or institution; a missing entry does not mean there is no requirement.

  5. Keep the advert, contract, receipts and messages. Find the local tenancy authority, consumer body or official fraud-reporting channel that handles your particular issue before paying further disputed charges.

    No related sourced local rule is recorded for this step. Confirm it with the relevant authority or institution; a missing entry does not mean there is no requirement.

  • Housing allowance Requirement National

    Added to the minimum wage where suitable housing is not provided.

    QAR 500 month minimum (as of 2021-03-20)

    Applies to: Workers covered by the minimum wage whose employer does not provide housing

    Source: ILO news: Qatar's new minimum wage enters into force (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2021-03-19; Other publisher)

  • Electricity and water account for a tenant Requirement National (KAHRAMAA service area)

    KAHRAMAA lists a service application, the tenant's and owner's QIDs and the rental contract for renting a home or apartment. Register through the km.qa customer portal. Connection-fee tables on km.qa are for building connections by owners and are not stated here as tenant costs.

    Applies to: Tenants opening a utility account

    Source: KAHRAMAA: FAQs (electricity and water; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Utility deposit Requirement National (KAHRAMAA service area)

    KAHRAMAA says a deposit refund follows final dues when an account is closed, on submitting the original deposit receipt. The page states no deposit amount, so none is given.

    Source: KAHRAMAA: FAQs (electricity and water; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • City rent ranges: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Tenant deposit and lease rules (almeezan.qa lease law article page returned metadata only; Hukoomi renting article, Al Meezan lease law pages and the Hukoomi rental-contract authentication service could not be read, so lease registration and authentication rules by municipality are not stated): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Tenant-rights regulator: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Utilities: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Rental scam warnings: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
BudgetOnly the legal wage floor was sourced; no cost-of-living data.
TransportDoha has a metro, electric buses and trams; fares and licence rules were not found.
  • Public transport network Editorial Doha and its metro area

    Doha Metro has Red, Green and Gold lines meeting at Msheireb; Karwa buses run by Mowasalat with Metrolink feeders; Lusail Tram works with a metro card; Msheireb and Education City trams are free.

    Source: Visit Qatar: Getting around (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Fares: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Driving licence exchange and conversion rules: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Visitor driving rules: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Expatriate driving licence issue/conversion (Hukoomi driving-licence pages client_error): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
BankingCurrency basics only; bank-opening rules were not found.
  • Currency and peg Editorial National

    The Qatari riyal is the only currency used, pegged to the US dollar at about 3.64.

    Source: Visit Qatar: Travel tips (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Cash declaration Requirement National

    Declare QAR 50,000 or more in cash, foreign currency or valuables on arrival.

    QAR 50,000 arrival declaration threshold (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: Visit Qatar: Travel tips (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Reporting financial fraud Editorial National

    QCB warns fraud arrives by phone, social media, email, SMS and links; report financial cybercrime on 66815757, through the Metrash2 app, or at cccc@moi.gov.qa.

    Source: Qatar Central Bank: National Awareness Campaign for Information Security (no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Bank account opening documents: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Wage Protection System rules: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Remittance rules: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
Phone and internetNo SIM registration rules were opened.
  • Wi-Fi and 5G Editorial National

    Free Wi-Fi at Hamad International Airport and most public places; Qatar describes itself as first with commercial 5G.

    Source: Visit Qatar: Travel tips (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • SIM registration requirements: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Home internet set-up: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
HealthcareCare is run by Hamad Medical Corporation and PHCC under the Ministry of Public Health; a PHCC health card is registered with a QID.
  • PHCC health card Requirement National

    Needs a QID valid at least one year and a Tawtheeq account for the Nar'aakom app; dependents must be under 18; fee paid at a PHCC centre.

    QAR 100 total, paid at a health centre (as of 2026-11-07)

    Source: PHCC: Register new health card (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Health insurance law Requirement National

    Law No. 22 of 2021 requires basic private insurance. A December 2023 ILO factsheet said it was not enforced; 2026 position NOT VERIFIED.

    Source: ILO FAIRWAY factsheet: Regulatory framework governing migrant workers in Qatar (updated Dec 2023; intergovernmental summary, not the Ministry text) (checked 2026-11-07; Other publisher)

  • Providers Editorial National

    HMC leads hospitals, PHCC runs primary centres with 24-hour urgent care, MoPH oversees.

    Source: Government Communications Office: Healthcare in Qatar (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-03-18; Government or public body)

  • Visitor health insurance Requirement National

    Visit Qatar says visitors staying more than 30 days need health insurance from a company registered with the Ministry of Public Health; a policy can be bought on arrival but buying before travel is recommended. This covers visitors, not residents or workers.

    Applies to: Visitors staying more than 30 days

    Source: Visit Qatar: Health insurance policy (visitors; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • MoPH mandatory scheme pages (moph.gov.qa served a verification challenge; not bypassed): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Current (2026) enforcement of the insurance law: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Which health card benefits apply by visa type: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Private insurer rules: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
ArrivalResidence ID is central; its issue procedure could not be read.
  • QID on job change Requirement National

    A new employer issues a new QID to the worker free of charge.

    Applies to: Private-sector workers changing employer

    Source: ILO/Ministry of Labour guide: procedure to change jobs in Qatar (no publication date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Other publisher)

  • Paying utility bills Editorial National (KAHRAMAA service area)

    KAHRAMAA bills can be paid by IVR line 991, its website, Ooredoo or QNB machines, local banks, e-Government or its app; online payment carries no extra charge and partial online payment is not accepted.

    Source: KAHRAMAA: FAQs (electricity and water; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Residence permit deadline after entry (Hukoomi/MOI blocked): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Medical and fingerprint steps: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Tax registration: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
CommunityLabour complaints have an official channel; integration resources were not found.
  • Labour complaints Editorial National

    Complaints go through the Ministry of Labour Unified Platform for Complaints and Whistleblowers or the Labour Relations Department (info@mol.gov.qa).

    Applies to: Workers covered by Labour Law No. 14 of 2004

    Source: ILO/Ministry of Labour guide for private sector workers under Labour Law No. 14 of 2004 (no publication date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Other publisher)

  • Language support: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Community and integration resources: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
ClimateMild winters, hot summers.
FamilySelf-sponsored residency can include first-degree relatives; schooling was not researched.
  • Family sponsorship (entrepreneur and executive residency) Requirement National

    Spouse, children and parents can be sponsored under Ministry of Interior rules for entrepreneurs; a spouse's parents cannot.

    Applies to: Entrepreneur Residency holders

    Source: Invest Qatar: FAQs, Residency Programs (PDF; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · Invest Qatar: FAQs, Entrepreneurs and Executives, Jusour (PDF; no date printed) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

  • Schooling and childcare (MOEHE compulsory-education and enrolment pages surfaced by search but robots-blocked; nothing read): Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Family residence salary threshold for ordinary employees: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.
  • Accessibility resources: Not verified yet: not confirmed from an official source, which does not mean none exists.

More guidance for Qatar

Source-linked guidance, its scope and remaining questions.

Additional guidance for Qatar. Source-linked means a reference is recorded, not that every claim has been independently verified. Check the scope and dates before relying on it.

Official task directory

Scope: Direct government task pages checked for this country, with authority, language and the date each page shows.

Directory language and accessibility details

Scope: Only language of pages checked can be stated.

Newcomer banking and accounts

Scope: The central bank's customer protection page blocks automated reading; no account-opening rule is stated.

Family schooling pathways

Scope: Private-school enrolment documents are listed; the registration window shown on the page is from an older year.

Weather and heat-work protection

Scope: The ILO summary records the legal heat protection; the Ministry of Labour notices block automated reading.

  • Outdoor work restriction

    Outdoor work is restricted between 10 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. from 1 June to 15 September; work must stop in any workplace when the Wet Bulb Globe Temperature exceeds 32.1 degrees Celsius; workers may stop work and file a complaint if they believe heat threatens their safety and are protected from dismissal for doing so; oil and gas company workers are excluded.

    Where: National; private-sector workers under the Labour Law (secondary ILO summary)

    Applies to: Workers covered by the Labour Law

    Source: ILO FAIRWAY — Regulatory framework governing migrant workers, Qatar section (updated December 2023; secondary summary of Qatari law) (checked 2026-11-08; document dated 2023-12-01; Other publisher; page partly read)

Gross pay and take-home uncertainty

Scope: A published minimum or visa line is a gross threshold, not take-home pay; no calculator is offered.

Tax residence versus immigration residence

Scope: The General Tax Authority certificate uses a day-count test separate from holding a residence permit.

  • Tax residency certificate

    For individuals the service lists a copy of the Qatari ID, a passport copy for residents, and an entry and exit record showing 183 days of presence in Qatar, continuous or split; the certificate is valid for 30 days.

    Where: National

    Applies to: Individuals applying for a certificate

    Source: Sharek — Issuance of a Tax Residency Certificate, General Tax Authority (checked 2026-11-08; document dated 2025-02-17; Government or public body; page read)

Pension portability and withdrawal

Scope: Only the end-of-service gratuity is stated, from a secondary summary.

Disability and reasonable-adjustment resources

Scope: The Hukoomi topic page lists organisations; it does not say whether eligibility differs for residents.

  • Named services

    Qatar Assistive Technology Center (Mada) serves people with hearing, visual, physical and learning disabilities; Shafallah Institute and Noor Institute provide specialised education; the Qatar Society for Rehabilitation covers social, psychological, academic and health needs.

    Where: National

    Source: Hukoomi — Persons with disabilities (topic page, shows no date) (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read)

Local conduct and religious-site rules

Scope: A legal rule and a recommendation are separated below.

Personal medicine import

Scope: Personal medicine import — bounded addition; remaining scope is listed explicitly.

  • Traveller-specific prior-approval portal

    The Ministry of Public Health portal identifies its Controlled Medicines System as the electronic route for travellers arriving in or departing Qatar to apply for prior approval to carry controlled medicines. It has a separate traveller registration/login route and says the competent authority reviews applications and issues approved permits electronically.

    Where: National

    Applies to: Travellers carrying controlled medicines

    Source: Qatar MOPH — Controlled Medicines System traveller portal (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page read; fact not independently verified)

  • Supporting medical documents

    The linked MOPH guidance requires a prescription and medical report in English or Arabic, issued within the previous six months, with patient, treatment and clinician details. It also lists medical-report foreign-affairs attestation, a QID/passport copy and a personal-use undertaking. Keep original medical documents available. Verify the exact medicine and approval requirements with MOPH before travel.

    Where: National

    Applies to: Patients bringing controlled medicines for personal use

    Source: Qatar MOPH — traveller controlled-medicine guidelines (checked 2026-11-08; Government or public body; page partly read; fact not independently verified)

Death and repatriation procedures

Scope: Official contacts and authority steps are separated; no fees or timelines beyond the page are stated.

  • Death certificate

    Issued by the Ministry of Public Health to a first-degree relative or an authorised representative. For a non-Qatari who died in Qatar: the deceased's passport, the notifier's ID or passport, and the hospital notification, or a Public Prosecution body-release permit if the death was outside a hospital, plus a work representative card if no first-degree relative is available. Contact 33195904; the page lists no application deadline.

    Where: National

    Source: Sharek (Qatar government participation platform) — Issuance of death certificate, Ministry of Public Health (checked 2026-11-08; document dated 2025-01-30; Government or public body; page read)

  • Burial permit

    Requests go to the Death Registration Unit at the Humanitarian Services Office; the page covers burial within the country and does not cover transporting a body abroad.

    Where: National

    Source: Sharek — Issuance of a burial permit, Ministry of Public Health (checked 2026-11-08; document dated 2025-01-30; Government or public body; page read)

Unpaid-wage dispute process

Scope: The route is from a secondary summary; recovery is not guaranteed.

Termination, notice and end-of-service rights

Scope: Contract category is a private-sector contract under the Labour Law; amounts are statutory rules, not estimates.

Occupational injury claim pathways

Scope: Medical response is separate from compensation; no benefit is guaranteed.

Exit and re-entry permission

Scope: The ILO summary states exit permits are not required for most workers; the primary law page could not be read.

Evidence snapshots

Scope: No page is copied. Original URLs, retrieval dates and page dates are retained.

Plain-language terminology

Scope: Terms are explained from the pages checked; the authority text prevails.

Topics with unanswered questions

Some guidance is incomplete or has not been confirmed. Missing information does not mean a rule, service or route is unavailable. Check the relevant authority for your circumstances.

  • Official task directory
  • Directory language and accessibility details
  • Dietary planning and labelling
  • Newcomer banking and accounts
  • Transport and licence eligibility by status
  • Family schooling pathways
  • Weather and heat-work protection
  • Local integration and language resources
  • Occupation titles and levels
  • Gross pay and take-home uncertainty
  • Study-related work categories
  • Post-study transition
  • Tax residence versus immigration residence
  • Social-security coordination
  • Pension portability and withdrawal
  • Disability and reasonable-adjustment resources
  • LGBTQ traveller legal context
  • Women-specific workplace and travel resources
  • Local conduct and religious-site rules
  • Personal medicine import
  • Vaccination and public-health entry evidence
  • Customs for household goods
  • Companion-animal relocation
  • Registering births, marriages and civil changes
  • Death and repatriation procedures
  • Unpaid-wage dispute process
  • Termination, notice and end-of-service rights
  • Occupational injury claim pathways
  • Exit and re-entry permission
  • Travel to neighbouring jurisdictions
  • Lawful remote work and self-employment
  • Permanent residence versus citizenship
  • Dependants ageing out or changing status
  • Refusal, review and appeal options
  • Dual-national and multiple-passport cases
  • Evidence snapshots
  • Plain-language terminology
Illustration of Doha Tower (Burj Doha)Illustration of the Museum of Islamic Art in DohaIllustration of the Aspire Tower in DohaIllustration of the pigeon towers at Katara, Doha

We do not yet publish an eligibility checker for this track. The route pages above carry the full requirement list from the official source.

What you need

Official websites — and what each one is for

Documents, in the order to get them

  1. Authenticated employment contract — issued by Employer via Ministry of Labour digital system
    Worker is entitled to a copy and can download it from the Ministry website.
    ILO/Ministry of Labour guide for private sector workers under Labour Law No. 14 of 2004 (no publication date printed) (checked 2026-11-07)
  2. Qatar ID (QID) — issued by Ministry of Interior (issue procedure NOT VERIFIED)
    A new employer requests a new QID free of charge to the worker on a job change.
    ILO/Ministry of Labour guide: procedure to change jobs in Qatar (no publication date printed) (checked 2026-11-07)

Health insurance

Medical

Somewhere to live

Getting there

Cash declaration

QAR 50,000

Amounts of QAR 50,000 or more, including foreign currency and valuables, must be declared on arrival.

Visit Qatar: Travel tips (checked 2026-11-07)

Money

What we could not source

  • Entry visa and residence permit procedure, documents, fees and processing time for employer-sponsored work: Hukoomi and MOI pages returned errors or were blocked.
  • Medical fitness test and fingerprinting rules for new residents: no official page checked.
  • Official shortage or eligible-occupation list: none found.
  • Qualification recognition and occupational licensing: not researched.
  • Executive and Entrepreneur Residency fees; validity conflict (five vs ten years) across Invest Qatar and Startup Qatar documents.
  • Permanent residency: Hukoomi article could not be read.
  • Family residence sponsorship thresholds: not sourced.

Quick answers by profile (preview, not verified)

Qatar for skilled tradesperson: can I go?

Employer-led contract work; worker-side protections are sourced, entry procedure is not yet verified.

Qatar for business owner: can I go?

Entrepreneur Residency exists, requires an incubator endorsement and/or investment.

Qatar for employed professional: can I go?

Employer-led for most professionals; self-sponsored executive route only for people already in Qatar.

Qatar for visitor: can I go?

Visa-free entry or Hayya e-visa; India's category could not be confirmed.