Skip to the main content

HomeResearcher or academicUnited States

United States

Routes to United States: researcher or academic

Preview — under verificationPage last reviewed in full: 2026-11-07. Most recent source check: 2026-11-07. A recent source check does not mean every requirement on the page was re-read on that date.

Per sources (unverified): J-1 research scholar; no tenure-track and with repeat bars.

Researchers usually enter through a sponsor-issued J-1 programme. It is temporary, cannot lead to a tenure-track appointment, and cannot be repeated within 24 months of finishing or within 12 months of other J-status presence. Permanent research jobs would need H-1B (cap-exempt status for universities was not verified) or another sponsored route, subject to the restrictions on the white-collar track.

Match an occupation and passport

Choose an occupation and a passport

1. What is your path?
2. Which country issued your passport?

0 paths are named in United States's official demand list, ranked below.

What United States wants, in its own order

This order is the official shortage analysis, not our opinion. The source is linked under the list.

The routes

Each route below is a separate permit with its own listed requirements. A requirement you do not meet can stop an application for that route, however strong the rest of the case is. A requirement we cannot confirm is shown as unknown, not as a failure.

J-1 research scholar (exchange visitor)

Preview — under verification

Temporary research appointment through a designated sponsor, not tenure-track, with repeat-participation bars of 12 and 24 months.

Who this is for

  • Researchers invited by a US host institution that is an approved J-1 sponsor

You must have every one of these

  • The person must not be a candidate for a tenure-track position.
  • A research scholar programme completed in the previous 24 months bars a new one; J-visa presence in the previous 12 months generally bars it, with listed exceptions (transfer, under six months, or short-term scholar only).
  • The sponsor screens and verifies credentials and English proficiency; the appointment is temporary even if the position is permanent.
  • Health insurance minimums apply to the scholar and any J-2 dependants: USD 100,000 medical per accident or illness, USD 25,000 repatriation, USD 50,000 evacuation, deductible no more than USD 500.
  • Maximum programme length: NOT VERIFIED (the BridgeUSA page does not state one).
How long it lastsVisa stamp validity for Indian passport holders up to 60 months (State Dept reciprocity page).Work allowedNOT VERIFIED (authorised research for the sponsor only is implied by the programme but not stated on the official pages checked).Government feeUSD 220 applicant (I-901 SEVIS fee, J-1 general category)

Source: State Department — Nonimmigrant visa fee increases effective 17 June 2023 (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2023-06-02; Government or public body) · State Department — India reciprocity schedule (visa validity by class) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · ICE — I-901 SEVIS Fee FAQ (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · State Department BridgeUSA — Research Scholar programme (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · eCFR — 22 CFR 62.14 Exchange Visitor insurance (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

What it costs

Costs are shown in USD as the cited source states them, with the unit the source gives. We do not convert currencies. A line with no stated unit or date is marked as such and is not an exact official charge.

I-901 SEVIS fee (J-1 general)

USD 35 for summer work/travel, au pair and camp counsellor; none for federally sponsored codes.

Source: ICE — I-901 SEVIS Fee FAQ (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

USD 220Sometimes the employer pays
Visa application fee (J)

State Dept schedule dated June 2023.

Source: State Department — Nonimmigrant visa fee increases effective 17 June 2023 (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2023-06-02; Government or public body)

USD 185Sometimes the employer pays
Total of the listed costs (partial budget)USD 405

How long it takes

Timeline not published by the authority

No authority-published timeline verified (NOT VERIFIED).

Published figures for this route

Published figures on how often this route is used, with their sources.

Documents, insurance, housing and money

These needs are the same whichever track you choose, so they are published once for United States, with sources and check dates.

Read the United States practical guide

Quick answers

Which routes to United States exist on the researcher or academic track?

Per sources (unverified): J-1 research scholar; no tenure-track and with repeat bars.

How long does it take?

Timeline not published by the authority. No authority-published timeline verified (NOT VERIFIED).

How much does it cost?

The published costs on this page total USD 405. Items that are not in that total, such as proof of funds or later permit fees, are labelled on this page where our sources state them.

Where to go next