Skip to the main content

HomeEmployed professionalOman

Oman

Routes to Oman: employed professional

Preview — under verificationPage last reviewed in full: 2026-11-07. Most recent source check: 2026-11-07. A recent source check does not mean every requirement on the page was re-read on that date.

Employer-led work visa, plus two non-employer residence routes

Professional employment follows the same employer-sponsored permit and visa path, with extra approvals for teaching, media, religious, medical and engineering roles and Omanisation limits on what the Ministry will allow. Non-employer residence exists but is for investors and property owners, with unpublished thresholds. No official shortage-occupation list was found, so no demand ranking is shown. The 14-day visa-free entry for visitors cannot be extended or turned into a residence visa.

Match an occupation and passport

Choose an occupation and a passport

1. What is your path?
2. Which country issued your passport?

0 paths are named in Oman's official demand list, ranked below.

What Oman wants, in its own order

This order is the official shortage analysis, not our opinion. The source is linked under the list.

The routes

Each route below is a separate permit with its own listed requirements. A requirement you do not meet can stop an application for that route, however strong the rest of the case is. A requirement we cannot confirm is shown as unknown, not as a failure.

Employer-sponsored work visa and Ministry of Labour work permit (تأشيرة عمل)

Preview — under verification

The only employment route is employer-led: a licensed Oman employer obtains the Ministry of Labour work permit and applies for the Royal Oman Police work visa, which an individual cannot apply for; permit conditions under the current Labour Law (Royal Decree 53/2023) and Omanisation limits were NOT VERIFIED because the text could not be read. The published list of professions closed to expatriates was NOT VERIFIED from an official page.

Who this is for

  • A worker with a job offer from an Oman employer holding a Ministry of Labour permit
  • Skilled trades and professional roles alike: the service pages do not separate the two

You must have every one of these

  • Employer applies as sponsor; the sponsor must be a local, fully qualified individual or entity, and the eVisa work-visa application is limited to accredited PROs.
  • Applicant aged at least 21.
  • Applicant's gender and profession must match the Ministry of Labour work permit.
  • Passport valid at least 6 months; two photographs; copy of the Ministry of Labour permit.
  • Medical examination copy; for listed nationalities, a Ministry of Health attested medical certificate (list of nationalities NOT VERIFIED).
  • Approval or letter from the relevant body for certain occupations (teaching, religious, media, medical roles; engineers need a Ministry letter).
  • Previous Oman employer's release letter if the person worked in Oman and left less than two years ago.
  • Ministry of Labour permit conditions (Omanisation, labour-market tests): NOT VERIFIED, current Labour Law text could not be read.
How long it lastsVisa validity NOT VERIFIED (the Gov.om page does not state it). The work permit can be renewed when under 90 days remain and the worker is in Oman.Work allowedNOT VERIFIED: whether and when a worker may change employer. The current Labour Law (Royal Decree 53/2023, which repeals the 2003 law) could not be read.Government feeOMR 20 work visa issue (Royal Oman Police, fixed)

Source: Gov.om — Get a Work Visa (Royal Oman Police) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-08-05; Government or public body) · Gov.om — Get Temporary Work Visa (Royal Oman Police) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-08-05; Government or public body) · Royal Oman Police — Work Visa requirements page (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · Royal Oman Police eVisa portal (home) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · Gov.om — Renew Work Permit (Non-Omani Workforce), Ministry of Labour (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-09-15; Government or public body; covers renewal only, not first issue) · Gov.om — Register Work Contract for Non-Omanis, Ministry of Labour (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-08-05; Government or public body)

Golden Residency (investor and talent)

Preview — under verification

A non-employer 10-year residency route run by the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion for investors and nominated talent; this is an investment route, not a job route, and the portal does not publish investment thresholds, fees, family inclusion or work rights.

Who this is for

  • Business founders and investors
  • People nominated by an invested company

You must have every one of these

  • Qualify under one listed basis: start or invest in a business, own property in tourism zones, hold bonds or listed shares, hold a fixed-term deposit, employ 50 or more Omanis, or be nominated by an invested company.
  • Investment thresholds: NOT VERIFIED (not stated on the official portal page).
How long it lasts10 years, as the portal states.Work allowedNOT VERIFIED: not stated.

Source: Golden Residency Programme (Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Residence visa for owners of residential units in integrated tourism complexes

Preview — under verification

A Royal Oman Police two-year residence visa for people who own a unit in an integrated tourism complex; it does not grant any right to a job and the minimum property value is not published on the page.

Who this is for

  • Property owners in integrated tourism complexes

You must have every one of these

  • Property must be in an integrated tourism complex, with a letter stating the unit location.
  • Applicant must be outside Oman when applying and must hold no other valid visa.
  • The page lists a commercial register requirement.
  • First-degree relatives can join under a separate visa (fee 50 OMR).
How long it lasts2 years.Work allowedNOT VERIFIED: not stated.Government feeOMR 50 property-owner residence visa (fixed)

Source: Gov.om — Get Residence Visa for Property Owner (Royal Oman Police) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-08-05; Government or public body) · Gov.om — Get a Visa to Join a Residential Unit Owner (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-08-05; Government or public body)

What it costs

Costs are shown in OMR as the cited source states them, with the unit the source gives. We do not convert currencies. A line with no stated unit or date is marked as such and is not an exact official charge.

Work visa issue (Royal Oman Police)

The sponsor applies; who bears the cost in practice is NOT VERIFIED from an official page.

Source: Gov.om — Get a Work Visa (Royal Oman Police) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-08-05; Government or public body)

OMR 20Employer pays
Work contract registration (Ministry of Labour)

Source: Gov.om — Register Work Contract for Non-Omanis, Ministry of Labour (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-08-05; Government or public body)

OMR 1Employer pays
Work permit renewal fee by occupation class (Class Three 200, Class Two 250, Class One 300) plus Job Security Fund fee 5% and 1 OMR processing

Initial-permit fee schedule NOT VERIFIED; this is the renewal page. Which occupations fall in which class is NOT VERIFIED.

Source: Gov.om — Renew Work Permit (Non-Omani Workforce), Ministry of Labour (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-09-15; Government or public body; covers renewal only, not first issue)

OMR 200 to OMR 300Employer pays
Residence card issue (Royal Oman Police)

Source: Gov.om — Get Residence Cards (Royal Oman Police) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-08-05; Government or public body)

OMR 11Sometimes the employer pays
Total of the listed costs (partial budget)OMR 11

How long it takes

Timeline not published by the authority

No authority publishes an end-to-end timeline. Gov.om lists a few minutes per online step, which is form time, not processing time. Permit and visa decision times: NOT VERIFIED.

Published figures for this route

Published figures on how often this route is used, with their sources.

Total 5,430,882; Omani 3,073,099; expatriate 2,357,783 (stock, not annual arrivals)

Registered population, Aug 2026 (NCSI Table 1)

Source: NCSI — Monthly Statistical Bulletin, September 2026 (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

1,839,713 in total, of whom 1,408,882 private sector and 381,638 family sector (stock, not annual permits)

Expatriate workers, Aug 2026 (NCSI Table 18, provisional)

Source: NCSI — Monthly Statistical Bulletin, September 2026 (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Indian 533,085; Bangladeshi 597,221; Pakistani 281,551 (stock by citizenship, not first permits)

Expatriate workers by nationality, Aug 2026 (NCSI Table 18)

Source: NCSI — Monthly Statistical Bulletin, September 2026 (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Documents, insurance, housing and money

These needs are the same whichever track you choose, so they are published once for Oman, with sources and check dates.

Read the Oman practical guide

Quick answers

Which routes to Oman exist on the employed professional track?

Employer-led work visa, plus two non-employer residence routes

How long does it take?

Timeline not published by the authority. No authority publishes an end-to-end timeline. Gov.om lists a few minutes per online step, which is form time, not processing time. Permit and visa decision times: NOT VERIFIED.

How much does it cost?

The published costs on this page total OMR 11. Items that are not in that total, such as proof of funds or later permit fees, are labelled on this page where our sources state them.

Where to go next