Skip to the main content

HomeStudent or traineeJapan

Japan

Routes to Japan: student or trainee

Preview — under verificationPage last reviewed in full: 2026-11-07. Most recent source check: 2026-11-07. A recent source check does not mean every requirement on the page was re-read on that date.

Student route: school-led Certificate of Eligibility, stay up to 4 years 3 months, part-time work capped at 28 hours a week

Certificate of Eligibility steps, stay limit and part-time work rules are confirmed from the official student portal. Admission level, Japanese level, fees, processing time and scholarship terms were not verified.

Match an occupation and passport

Choose an occupation and a passport

1. What is your study path?
2. Which country issued your passport?

0 study paths are named in Japan's official demand list, ranked below.

What Japan wants, in its own order

This order is the official shortage analysis, not our opinion. The source is linked under the list.

The routes

Each route below is a separate permit with its own listed requirements. A requirement you do not meet can stop an application for that route, however strong the rest of the case is. A requirement we cannot confirm is shown as unknown, not as a failure.

Student status of residence (留学)

Preview — under verification

Study in Japan; entry requirements NOT VERIFIED. Work needs separate permission and is capped.

Who this is for

  • Applicants admitted to a Japanese school or university

You must have every one of these

  • Permission to engage in work outside the status is required (apply at the Regional Immigration Services Bureau or at the port of entry for stays over 3 months)
  • Part-time work capped at 28 hours per week, up to 8 hours per day in long school holidays
  • Adult entertainment businesses are banned by law
  • Certificate of Eligibility applied for at a regional immigration services bureau, in most cases by the accepting school as proxy
  • Be ready to prove you can cover expenses if asked (sponsor savings certificate, past-year income certificate, source-of-funds documents)
  • Visa application at a Japanese embassy or consulate after the Certificate of Eligibility is issued
  • Stays over three months: residence card, then register at the municipal office within 14 days
  • Admission level and Japanese-language requirements NOT VERIFIED
How long it lastsSet per applicant by the Minister of Justice, not exceeding 4 years and 3 months

Source: Study in Japan official site — Part-time work (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · Study in Japan official site — Immigration and student visas (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

What it costs

Costs are shown in JPY as the cited source states them, with the unit the source gives. We do not convert currencies. A line with no stated unit or date is marked as such and is not an exact official charge.

First-year admission and tuition, national university (approx.)

Approximate average; year not stated; teaching materials may be extra

Source: Study in Japan — Academic fees (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

JPY 820,000You pay
First-year admission and tuition, local public university (approx.)

Approximate average; year not stated

Source: Study in Japan — Academic fees (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

JPY 910,000You pay
First-year admission and tuition, private university excluding medicine, dentistry, pharmacy (approx.)

Approximate average; year not stated

Source: Study in Japan — Academic fees (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

JPY 1,300,000You pay
Japanese language institution, first year

Range as stated; year not stated

Source: Study in Japan — Academic fees (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

JPY 610,000 to JPY 1,900,000You pay
Total of the listed costs (partial budget)No single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies

How long it takes

Timeline not published by the authority

The student procedures page gives no fees or processing time; none stated here.

Published figures for this route

Published figures on how often this route is used, with their sources.

Documents, insurance, housing and money

These needs are the same whichever track you choose, so they are published once for Japan, with sources and check dates.

Read the Japan practical guide

Quick answers

Which routes to Japan exist on the student or trainee track?

Student route: school-led Certificate of Eligibility, stay up to 4 years 3 months, part-time work capped at 28 hours a week

How long does it take?

Timeline not published by the authority. The student procedures page gives no fees or processing time; none stated here.

How much does it cost?

The published costs on this page are in different currencies, so there is no single total. Items that are not in that total, such as proof of funds or later permit fees, are labelled on this page where our sources state them.

Where to go next