Skip to the main content

HomeEmployed professionalCanada

Canada

Routes to Canada: employed professional

Preview — under verificationPage last reviewed in full: 2026-11-07. Most recent source check: 2026-11-07. A recent source check does not mean every requirement on the page was re-read on that date.

Canada: Express Entry permanent residence is by invitation from a pool; IRCC says 2026 focus is on top-ranked candidates with Canadian experience

Express Entry holds three federal programmes. The Federal Skilled Worker Program needs CLB 7 and a 67-point score but does not guarantee an invitation, and IRCC says the programmes in 2026 focus on the highest-ranked candidates with Canadian work experience. From 3 November 2026 high-wage work or job offers earn extra points without an LMIA. The Canadian Experience Class requires Canadian work already done. The Start-up Visa is paused. IRCC publishes no fixed timeline.

Match an occupation and passport

Choose an occupation and a passport

1. What is your path?
2. Which country issued your passport?

0 paths are named in Canada's official demand list, ranked below.

What Canada wants, in its own order

This order is the official shortage analysis, not our opinion. The source is linked under the list.

The routes

Each route below is a separate permit with its own listed requirements. A requirement you do not meet can stop an application for that route, however strong the rest of the case is. A requirement we cannot confirm is shown as unknown, not as a failure.

Federal Skilled Worker Program (Express Entry)

Preview — under verification

Points-tested permanent residence for skilled workers abroad, but only by invitation, and from 3 November 2026 extra ranking points reward high-wage Canadian work or job offers.

Who this is for

  • Professionals with 1 year of recent skilled (TEER 0-3) work, strong language scores and an assessed degree

You must have every one of these

  • At least 1 continuous year (1,560 hours) of paid TEER 0-3 work in the last 10 years matching your main NOC.
  • CLB 7 minimum in all four abilities on an approved test; below CLB 7 you are not eligible.
  • Secondary education required; a foreign credential needs an Educational Credential Assessment.
  • At least 67 of 100 points on the programme grid (separate from CRS ranking points).
  • Proof of funds unless you can work in Canada and hold a valid job offer.
  • Outside Quebec.
  • From 3 November 2026 an LMIA is no longer required for a qualifying job offer; high-wage occupations (median wage at least 1.3 times the national median) earn extra points; the point values were not published in the release.
How long it lastsPermanent residence.Government feeCAD 1,590 PR application including right of permanent residence fee (CAD 990 without)

Source: IRCC - Federal Skilled Worker Program (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · IRCC - Express Entry: who can apply (programs compared) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · IRCC - Canada refocusing Express Entry (16 Oct 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-10-16; Government or public body) · IRCC - Fee list (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Canadian Experience Class (Express Entry)

Preview — under verification

For people with skilled work experience gained in Canada; where an applicant must be when applying is NOT VERIFIED (the page checked does not state it).

Who this is for

  • Temporary workers and graduates with 1 year of Canadian skilled work

You must have every one of these

  • At least 1 year (1,560 hours) of paid TEER 0-3 work in Canada in the 3 years before applying, while authorised to work.
  • Language: CLB 7 for TEER 0 or 1 jobs, CLB 5 for TEER 2 or 3 jobs.
  • No education requirement.
  • Plan to live outside Quebec.
How long it lastsPermanent residence.Government feeCAD 1,590 PR application including right of permanent residence fee (CAD 990 without)

Source: IRCC - Canadian Experience Class (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2024-12-13; Government or public body) · IRCC - Express Entry: who can apply (programs compared) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · IRCC - Fee list (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Express Entry category-based draws (healthcare, STEM, education, transport, research, physicians, senior managers, French, military)

Preview — under verification

Ten draw categories prefer listed occupations or French; eligibility does not guarantee an invitation, and three require Canadian experience.

Who this is for

  • Engineers, health and social-service workers, teachers, pilots and mechanics, physicians, researchers, senior managers and French speakers already in the Express Entry pool

You must have every one of these

  • Be in the Express Entry pool and eligible for FSWP, CEC or FSTP.
  • Most work categories: 12 months full-time in the past 3 years in a listed occupation, in or outside Canada.
  • Physicians with Canadian experience, senior managers and researchers: the 12 months must be in Canada.
  • French category: CLB 7 in all four French abilities.
How long it lastsPermanent residence.

Source: IRCC - Express Entry category-based selection (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Provincial Nominee Program

Preview — under verification

Each province sets its own streams and numbers, so access depends on the province and its occupations; Quebec and Nunavut have no PNP.

Who this is for

  • People whose skills, education or experience match a province's stream and who intend to live there

You must have every one of these

  • Qualify for a stream of a province or territory that nominates you; each sets its own requirements and annual numbers.
  • Quebec and Nunavut do not run a PNP.
  • An Express Entry nomination adds 600 ranking points; the province tells you whether to use Express Entry or the paper-based process.
How long it lastsPermanent residence after IRCC approves the nominee.Government feeCAD 1,590 PR application including the CAD 600 right of permanent residence fee (CAD 990 without it)

Source: IRCC - Immigrate as a provincial nominee (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · IRCC - Transition binder 2026: Economic Immigration (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-07-27; Government or public body) · IRCC - Fee list (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Global Talent Stream (work permit)

Preview — under verification

An employer-led fast stream for specialised talent: it needs a designated referral (Category A) or a listed occupation (Category B), and the employer pays CAD 1,000 per position.

Who this is for

  • Highly skilled workers hired by employers that meet the stream's terms

You must have every one of these

  • Category A: referral by a designated partner and at least CAD 38.46 per hour for the first two positions.
  • Category B: occupation on the global talent occupations list and at least the listed wage.
  • Employer commits to a Labour Market Benefits Plan, pays no recruitment fee through the worker, and provides health and workplace safety insurance.
Work allowedEmployer-specific (general rule; not restated on the page).Government feeCAD 155 person, work permit

Source: ESDC - Global Talent Stream requirements (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · IRCC - Fee list (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

International Mobility Program (LMIA-exempt work permits)

Preview — under verification

Some workers can be hired without an LMIA, including under free trade agreements and through French-speaking and Global Skills Strategy paths; the page checked does not list every category.

Who this is for

  • Workers whose category is LMIA-exempt, with an employer offer in most cases

You must have every one of these

  • Eligibility depends on the exempt category: NOT VERIFIED: intra-company transfer, CUSMA and reciprocal-employment rules were not on the official pages checked.
  • Examples named on the page: French-speaking workers outside Quebec, Global Skills Strategy, free trade agreement workers.
Government feeCAD 155 person, work permit

Source: IRCC - Who you can hire under the International Mobility Program (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · IRCC - Fee list (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Rural Community Immigration Pilot

Preview — under verification

A permanent-residence pilot tied to 14 named rural communities; eligibility rules sit on sub-pages that could not be read.

Who this is for

  • Skilled workers with a job offer in one of the participating communities

You must have every one of these

  • Community and job-offer details: NOT VERIFIED: read the pilot's eligibility sub-pages (not yet verified).
  • Communities listed: Pictou County NS; North Bay, Sudbury, Timmins, Sault Ste. Marie, Thunder Bay ON; Steinbach, Altona/Rhineland, Brandon MB; Moose Jaw SK; Claresholm AB; West Kootenay, North Okanagan Shuswap, Peace Liard BC.
How long it lastsPermanent residence.

Source: IRCC - Rural and Francophone Community Immigration pilots (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · IRCC - Transition binder 2026: Economic Immigration (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-07-27; Government or public body) · IRCC - 2027-2029 Immigration Levels Plan (5 Nov 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-05; Government or public body)

Start-up Visa Program

Preview — under verification

Paused and closed to new applications; only holders of a valid 2025 commitment certificate could apply, by 30 June 2026.

Who this is for

  • Not available to new applicants

You must have every one of these

  • Status Paused; closed to all except people with a valid 2025 commitment certificate who had to apply by 30 June 2026. The work-permit extension is closed to new applicants.

Source: IRCC - Start-up Visa Program (status: Paused) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · IRCC - 2027-2029 Immigration Levels Plan (5 Nov 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-05; Government or public body)

International Experience Canada (working holiday)

Preview — under verification

Open only to passports of the roughly 40 partner countries; India is not on IRCC's list.

Who this is for

  • Young people from partner countries (age range not stated on the official pages checked)

You must have every one of these

  • Citizenship of a partner country. India is not listed on the eligibility page (checked 2026-11-07).

Source: IRCC - International Experience Canada: who can apply (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

What it costs

Costs are shown in CAD as the cited source states them, with the unit the source gives. We do not convert currencies. A line with no stated unit or date is marked as such and is not an exact official charge.

Express Entry or PNP permanent residence application, including right of permanent residence fee

Source: IRCC - Fee list (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

CAD 1,590You pay
Work permit application

Source: IRCC - Fee list (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

CAD 155You pay
Global Talent Stream LMIA processing fee

Source: ESDC - Global Talent Stream requirements (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

CAD 1,000Employer pays
Biometrics

Source: IRCC - Fee list (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

CAD 85 to CAD 170You pay
Total of the listed costs (partial budget)No single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies

How long it takes

Timeline not published by the authority

IRCC does not publish a fixed timeline. Its processing-times tool shows how long it expects an application received today to take, counted from a complete application until a decision, and it is not a maximum or guarantee. The figures load only in a browser tool and were not captured, so none are shown here.

Published figures for this route

Published figures on how often this route is used, with their sources.

109,000 admissions, a planned target, not an outcome. Admissions can include people already living in Canada who change status.

2026 federal high-skilled (FSWP, CEC, FSTP) admissions target

Source: IRCC - Transition binder 2026: Economic Immigration (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-07-27; Government or public body)

91,500 planned admissions; provinces hold 43,999 allocation spaces. Includes in-Canada status changes.

2026 Provincial Nominee Program admissions target

Source: IRCC - Transition binder 2026: Economic Immigration (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-07-27; Government or public body)

Documents, insurance, housing and money

These needs are the same whichever track you choose, so they are published once for Canada, with sources and check dates.

Read the Canada practical guide

Quick answers

Which routes to Canada exist on the employed professional track?

Canada: Express Entry permanent residence is by invitation from a pool; IRCC says 2026 focus is on top-ranked candidates with Canadian experience

How long does it take?

Timeline not published by the authority. IRCC does not publish a fixed timeline. Its processing-times tool shows how long it expects an application received today to take, counted from a complete application until a decision, and it is not a maximum or guarantee. The figures load only in a browser tool and were not captured, so none are shown here.

How much does it cost?

The published costs on this page are in different currencies, so there is no single total. Items that are not in that total, such as proof of funds or later permit fees, are labelled on this page where our sources state them.

Where to go next