Skip to the main content

HomeSkilled tradespersonIreland

Ireland

Routes to Ireland: skilled tradesperson

Preview — under verificationPage last reviewed in full: 2026-11-07. Most recent source check: 2026-11-07. A recent source check does not mean every requirement on the page was re-read on that date.

No general trades visa: skilled workers use the General Employment Permit, and only some occupations qualify, often under a capped quota

We found no dedicated skilled-trades permit. Trades such as car mechanics, meat processors, dairy farm assistants and care workers can get a General Employment Permit only where DETE has opened them, and many of these have fixed quotas that fill. In 2026 the car mechanic quota, the hospitality manager quota, the furniture maker quota and the meat processing operative quota were announced as filled or nearly filled; a review on 28 May 2026 moved some construction trades such as steel fixers and concrete pump operators to GEP eligibility without a quota. Electricians and plumbers are not shown as a group on the Critical Skills list and their GEP eligibility was NOT VERIFIED because the Ineligible List page could not be read. The 50:50 rule, a salary floor of EUR 32,691 to EUR 36,605 and a labour market test still apply.

Match an occupation and passport

Choose an occupation and a passport

1. What is your trade?
2. Which country issued your passport?

2 trades are named in Ireland's official demand list, ranked below.

What Ireland wants, in its own order

This order is the official shortage analysis, not our opinion. The source is linked under the list.

1

Motor vehicle mechanic

Car and motor mechanics are a quota occupation for the GEP; DETE announced on 19 March 2026 that the quota was filled and the 28 May 2026 review renewed quotas (unranked).

Language level not stated in our sourcesNo recognition required by law
1

Care worker

Care workers and home carers have a GEP quota (1,000 extra permits on 11 March 2025) and a lower pay floor; the 28 May 2026 review renewed the support worker and home support quota (unranked).

Language level not stated in our sourcesNo recognition required by law

Ranking source: DETE — Latest employment permits notices and developments (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Ministers Burke and Dillon announce new employment permits (occupations lists review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-05-28; Government or public body; announced only: not an operative procedure, no application route is implied)

The routes

Each route below is a separate permit with its own listed requirements. A requirement you do not meet can stop an application for that route, however strong the rest of the case is. A requirement we cannot confirm is shown as unknown, not as a failure.

General Employment Permit for an eligible trade or operative job (GEP)

Preview — under verification

Possible only for occupations not on the Ineligible List; some occupations are open only within capped quotas that have filled.

Who this is for

  • Workers with an employer who will sponsor in an eligible occupation

You must have every one of these

  • Employer sponsor and a job offer at or above the minimum pay (EUR 36,605; EUR 32,691 for horticulture, meat processing, health care assistants and home support)
  • Occupation must not be on the Ineligible List; quota occupations need a place within the quota
  • Labour market needs test in most cases; 50:50 workforce rule
How long it lastsAs the General Employment Permit.Work allowedNamed employer only.Government feeEUR 1,000

Source: DETE — General Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Ministers Burke and Dillon announce new employment permits (occupations lists review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-05-28; Government or public body; announced only: not an operative procedure, no application route is implied) · DETE — Latest employment permits notices and developments (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Seasonal Employment Permit

Preview — under verification

A scheme exists for Approved Seasonal Employers; applications for 2027 open from 1 January 2027. Eligibility and pay rules were NOT VERIFIED.

Who this is for

  • Seasonal workers placed by approved employers

You must have every one of these

  • Employer must be an Approved Seasonal Employer (applications due by 12 December 2026)

Source: DETE — Latest employment permits notices and developments (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

What it costs

GEP application fee

Employer cannot recover it from the worker.

Source: DETE — General Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

EUR 500 to EUR 1,000Employer pays
Total of the listed costs (partial budget)No single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies

How long it takes

Timeline not published by the authority

No average processing time is published; DETE shows the date currently being processed. Quota availability can end an application window with no notice period beyond the Department's notices.

Compare before you commit

Two trades, or Ireland against another country, on the lines that differ.

Compare two trades

Identical on every line we publish

Side one

Side two

Route statusSame both sides

Whether the country is taking new applicants from overseas right now.

Ireland · Motor vehicle mechanic
Restricted — General Employment Permit for an eligible trade or operative job
Ireland · Care worker
Restricted — General Employment Permit for an eligible trade or operative job
Language levelSame both sides

The longest item on anybody's list. It decides your start date more than the visa does.

Ireland · Motor vehicle mechanic
Not stated in our sources
Ireland · Care worker
Not stated in our sources
Qualification recognitionSame both sides

If recognition is required by law, you cannot work in the job until it is finished.

Ireland · Motor vehicle mechanic
Not required by law
Ireland · Care worker
Not required by law
Money to budgetSame both sides

What the published cost list adds up to. Alternatives, employer-paid fees and money you only have to show or that comes back to you are not added.

Ireland · Motor vehicle mechanic
No single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies
Ireland · Care worker
No single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies
Realistic timelineSame both sides

Start to arrival, as the official timeline note states it. Not the visa stamp alone.

Ireland · Motor vehicle mechanic
Timeline not published by the authority
Ireland · Care worker
Timeline not published by the authority
Place in the demand listSame both sides

Where this sits in the country's own official shortage analysis.

Ireland · Motor vehicle mechanic
No. 1 of 2
Ireland · Care worker
No. 1 of 2

“Lower bar” means fewer requirements or less time or money on that one line only. It is not advice on which is better for you. Money and timeline figures are the whole published range for that country and track, not for this path alone.

Sources: DETE — General Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Ministers Burke and Dillon announce new employment permits (occupations lists review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-05-28; Government or public body; announced only: not an operative procedure, no application route is implied) · DETE — Latest employment permits notices and developments (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Compare two published visa routes

Profile: Skilled tradesperson. Compare the actual route requirements below. Each fee keeps its published currency; no combined total or cheapest-route ranking is calculated.

Ireland · General Employment Permit for an eligible trade or operative job
Preview — under verification

Published route status: restricted. This destination remains a research preview; the route is not independently confirmed.

Possible only for occupations not on the Ineligible List; some occupations are open only within capped quotas that have filled.

Requirements
Route-specific government fee

EUR 1,000 · charging unit not stated

Source: DETE — General Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Ministers Burke and Dillon announce new employment permits (occupations lists review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-05-28; Government or public body; announced only: not an operative procedure, no application route is implied) · DETE — Latest employment permits notices and developments (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Government fee only, not a route budget. Profile-level financial ranges above are reference information and are not attributed to either visa route.

Route sources: DETE — General Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Ministers Burke and Dillon announce new employment permits (occupations lists review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-05-28; Government or public body; announced only: not an operative procedure, no application route is implied) · DETE — Latest employment permits notices and developments (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

Germany · Opportunity Card
Open

A one-year residence permit that lets you enter Germany to look for work, without needing a job offer first.

Requirements
Route-specific government fee

Not verified for this route. A missing amount is not zero.

Government fee only, not a route budget. Profile-level financial ranges above are reference information and are not attributed to either visa route.

Route sources: Make it in Germany — Opportunity Card (Federal Government portal) (checked 2026-11-03)

Published figures for this route

Published figures on how often this route is used, with their sources.

Documents, insurance, housing and money

These needs are the same whichever track you choose, so they are published once for Ireland, with sources and check dates.

Read the Ireland practical guide

Quick answers

Which routes to Ireland exist on the skilled tradesperson track?

No general trades visa: skilled workers use the General Employment Permit, and only some occupations qualify, often under a capped quota

How long does it take?

Timeline not published by the authority. No average processing time is published; DETE shows the date currently being processed. Quota availability can end an application window with no notice period beyond the Department's notices.

How much does it cost?

The published costs on this page are in different currencies, so there is no single total. Items that are not in that total, such as proof of funds or later permit fees, are labelled on this page where our sources state them.

Where to go next