Skip to the main content

HomeEmployed professionalIreland

Ireland

Routes to Ireland: employed professional

Preview — under verificationPage last reviewed in full: 2026-11-07. Most recent source check: 2026-11-07. A recent source check does not mean every requirement on the page was re-read on that date.

Critical Skills Employment Permit is open for listed occupations at EUR 40,904 or more; the General permit has a salary floor, a labour market test and a 50:50 workforce rule

Ireland's main skilled routes are the Critical Skills Employment Permit (CSEP) and the General Employment Permit (GEP). CSEP needs a job offer of at least two years in an occupation on the Critical Skills Occupations List at EUR 40,904 a year or more (with a relevant degree), or EUR 68,911 for other eligible occupations; it needs no labour market test, leads to Stamp 4 after 21 months and lets the holder bring family promptly. The GEP needs EUR 36,605 a year at least, usually a labour market needs test, and the employer must show that at least half its workforce are EEA nationals (some start-ups exempt). Occupations on the Ineligible List cannot get a GEP at any salary. Thresholds rose on 1 March 2026 and the Department says further increases are phased to 2030. Applications are processed in date order and must be lodged at least 12 weeks before the start date. A CSEP holder who applied for Stamp 4 and was waiting got an interim measure only until 31 August 2026.

Match an occupation and passport

Choose an occupation and a passport

1. What is your path?
2. Which country issued your passport?

6 paths are named in Ireland's official demand list, ranked below.

What Ireland wants, in its own order

This order is the official shortage analysis, not our opinion. The source is linked under the list.

1

Software engineer

Programmers and software developers appear on the Critical Skills Occupations List (unranked list).

Language level not stated in our sourcesNo recognition required by law
1

Civil engineer

Civil, structural and site engineers appear on the Critical Skills Occupations List (unranked).

Language level not stated in our sourcesNo recognition required by law
1

Mechanical engineer

Mechanical and electrical engineers appear on the list, some only in specified specialisms (unranked).

Language level not stated in our sourcesNo recognition required by law
1

Electrical engineer

Electrical engineers appear on the list, some only in specified specialisms (unranked).

Language level not stated in our sourcesNo recognition required by law
1

Doctor

Medical practitioners appear on the list (unranked). Registration with the relevant Irish regulator is NOT VERIFIED here.

Language level not stated in our sourcesRecognition required by law
1

Registered nurse

Registered nurses and midwives appear on the list; the CSEP page requires a degree or diploma accepted by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland.

Language level not stated in our sourcesRecognition required by law

Ranking source: DETE — Critical Skills Occupations List (effective 13 May 2026, SI 213 of 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

The routes

Each route below is a separate permit with its own listed requirements. A requirement you do not meet can stop an application for that route, however strong the rest of the case is. A requirement we cannot confirm is shown as unknown, not as a failure.

Critical Skills Employment Permit (CSEP)

Preview — under verification

For listed shortage occupations or very high pay; no labour market test; Stamp 4 after 21 months of employment; employer must meet the 50:50 rule.

Who this is for

  • Degree-qualified professionals in listed occupations (ICT, engineering, health, nursing, construction professionals, finance specialisms and others)
  • Other occupations paid EUR 68,911 a year or more (not on the Ineligible List)

You must have every one of these

  • Job offer of at least two years (shorter offers fall under the General permit)
  • Occupation on the Critical Skills Occupations List and pay of at least EUR 40,904 a year with a relevant degree (EUR 36,848 if the qualification was gained within 12 months before applying)
  • Otherwise pay of at least EUR 68,911 a year, in an occupation not on the Ineligible List
  • Public-sector pay agreements set the pay level where one applies
  • At least 50% of the employer's workforce must be EEA nationals at application (some supported start-ups waived)
  • Apply at least 12 weeks before the proposed start date
How long it lastsInitial immigration permission two years, renewable; Stamp 4 upgrade is available after 21 months from commencement of employment (ISD; the older DETE page wording of a direct Stamp 4 after the permit period is superseded here); long-term residence after 60 months of permission.Work allowedWork for the sponsoring employer (about nine months before changing employer); Stamp 4 gives work without a permit.Government feeEUR 1,000

Source: DETE — Critical Skills Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Government unveils roadmap for gradual increase in employment permit salary thresholds (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-12-02; Government or public body) · DETE — Critical Skills Occupations List (effective 13 May 2026, SI 213 of 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Current processing dates for employment permits (as of 6 November 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-06; Government or public body) · ISD — Information on Stamp 4 upgrades for Employment Permit and Hosting Agreement holders (page modified 25 February 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · ISD — Update to eligibility requirements for Stamp 4 upgrades (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2024-04-03; Government or public body)

General Employment Permit (GEP)

Preview — under verification

Open to any occupation not on the Ineligible List, subject to pay floor, labour market needs test and the 50:50 rule; Stamp 4 upgrade after 57 months.

Who this is for

  • Skilled employees in occupations not on the Critical Skills List and not ineligible

You must have every one of these

  • Pay of at least EUR 36,605 a year (EUR 34,009 for a recent Irish graduate; EUR 32,691 for horticulture, meat processing, health care assistants and home support)
  • Occupation not on the Ineligible List of Occupations regardless of salary
  • Labour market needs test in most cases (advertise through DSP/EURES plus one other platform); exemptions include jobs paying EUR 68,911 or more
  • At least 50% of employees EEA nationals at application, with exemptions for some start-ups
  • Employer a bona fide business registered with Revenue and trading in Ireland
How long it lastsUp to two years initially and renewal up to three more (the page is not fully consistent on wording); ISD gives 57 months for Stamp 4 upgrade; the DETE GEP page says five years, so rely on ISD (STAMP4).Work allowedWork for the named employer only; changing employer generally after nine months.Government feeEUR 1,000

Source: DETE — General Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Current processing dates for employment permits (as of 6 November 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-06; Government or public body) · ISD — Information on Stamp 4 upgrades for Employment Permit and Hosting Agreement holders (page modified 25 February 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · ISD — Update to eligibility requirements for Stamp 4 upgrades (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2024-04-03; Government or public body)

Intra-Company Transfer Employment Permit

Preview — under verification

Moves senior managers, key personnel or trainees of a multinational's overseas branch to its Irish branch; minimum pay is higher than the GEP.

Who this is for

  • Staff of multinationals transferring internally

You must have every one of these

  • Minimum remuneration EUR 49,523 from 1 March 2026 (the same document prints EUR 49,522 in one table)
  • Other conditions (length of service, role category) NOT VERIFIED: the permit-type page could not be read

Source: DETE — Types of employment permits (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

What it costs

CSEP application fee

90% refunded if unsuccessful; the employer may not recover the fee from the employee.

Source: DETE — Critical Skills Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

EUR 1,000Employer pays
GEP application fee (6 to 24 months)

EUR 500 for 6 months or less, EUR 1,000 for 6 to 24 months. Renewal EUR 750 or EUR 1,500.

Source: DETE — General Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

EUR 500 to EUR 1,000Employer pays
Total of the listed costs (partial budget)No single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies

How long it takes

Timeline not published by the authority

DETE publishes no average processing time. It publishes the date of applications currently being processed (CSEP 24 October 2026, new GEP 2 October 2026, as of 6 November 2026) and requires applications at least 12 weeks before the start date. Visa and Stamp 4 timing is NOT VERIFIED.

Compare before you commit

Two paths, or Ireland against another country, on the lines that differ.

Compare two paths

Identical on every line we publish

Side one

Side two

Route statusSame both sides

Whether the country is taking new applicants from overseas right now.

Ireland · Software engineer
Open — Critical Skills Employment Permit
Ireland · Civil engineer
Open — Critical Skills Employment Permit
Language levelSame both sides

The longest item on anybody's list. It decides your start date more than the visa does.

Ireland · Software engineer
Not stated in our sources
Ireland · Civil engineer
Not stated in our sources
Qualification recognitionSame both sides

If recognition is required by law, you cannot work in the job until it is finished.

Ireland · Software engineer
Not required by law
Ireland · Civil engineer
Not required by law
Money to budgetSame both sides

What the published cost list adds up to. Alternatives, employer-paid fees and money you only have to show or that comes back to you are not added.

Ireland · Software engineer
No single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies
Ireland · Civil engineer
No single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies
Realistic timelineSame both sides

Start to arrival, as the official timeline note states it. Not the visa stamp alone.

Ireland · Software engineer
Timeline not published by the authority
Ireland · Civil engineer
Timeline not published by the authority
Place in the demand listSame both sides

Where this sits in the country's own official shortage analysis.

Ireland · Software engineer
No. 1 of 6
Ireland · Civil engineer
No. 1 of 6

“Lower bar” means fewer requirements or less time or money on that one line only. It is not advice on which is better for you. Money and timeline figures are the whole published range for that country and track, not for this path alone.

Sources: DETE — Critical Skills Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Government unveils roadmap for gradual increase in employment permit salary thresholds (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-12-02; Government or public body) · DETE — Critical Skills Occupations List (effective 13 May 2026, SI 213 of 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Current processing dates for employment permits (as of 6 November 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-06; Government or public body) · ISD — Information on Stamp 4 upgrades for Employment Permit and Hosting Agreement holders (page modified 25 February 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · ISD — Update to eligibility requirements for Stamp 4 upgrades (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2024-04-03; Government or public body)

Compare two published visa routes

Profile: Employed professional. Compare the actual route requirements below. Each fee keeps its published currency; no combined total or cheapest-route ranking is calculated.

Ireland · Critical Skills Employment Permit
Preview — under verification

Published route status: open. This destination remains a research preview; the route is not independently confirmed.

For listed shortage occupations or very high pay; no labour market test; Stamp 4 after 21 months of employment; employer must meet the 50:50 rule.

Requirements
Route-specific government fee

EUR 1,000 · charging unit not stated

Source: DETE — Critical Skills Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Government unveils roadmap for gradual increase in employment permit salary thresholds (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-12-02; Government or public body) · DETE — Critical Skills Occupations List (effective 13 May 2026, SI 213 of 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Current processing dates for employment permits (as of 6 November 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-06; Government or public body) · ISD — Information on Stamp 4 upgrades for Employment Permit and Hosting Agreement holders (page modified 25 February 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · ISD — Update to eligibility requirements for Stamp 4 upgrades (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2024-04-03; Government or public body)

Government fee only, not a route budget. Profile-level financial ranges above are reference information and are not attributed to either visa route.

Route sources: DETE — Critical Skills Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Government unveils roadmap for gradual increase in employment permit salary thresholds (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-12-02; Government or public body) · DETE — Critical Skills Occupations List (effective 13 May 2026, SI 213 of 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Current processing dates for employment permits (as of 6 November 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-06; Government or public body) · ISD — Information on Stamp 4 upgrades for Employment Permit and Hosting Agreement holders (page modified 25 February 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · ISD — Update to eligibility requirements for Stamp 4 upgrades (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2024-04-03; Government or public body)

Germany · EU Blue Card
Open

A residence permit for university graduates with a qualifying job offer above a set salary threshold.

Requirements
Route-specific government fee

Not verified for this route. A missing amount is not zero.

Government fee only, not a route budget. Profile-level financial ranges above are reference information and are not attributed to either visa route.

Route sources: Make it in Germany — EU Blue Card (Federal Government portal) (checked 2026-11-03) · § 18g AufenthG — EU Blue Card salary thresholds (Federal Office of Justice) (checked 2026-11-03)

Published figures for this route

Published figures on how often this route is used, with their sources.

Documents, insurance, housing and money

These needs are the same whichever track you choose, so they are published once for Ireland, with sources and check dates.

Read the Ireland practical guide

Quick answers

Which routes to Ireland exist on the employed professional track?

Critical Skills Employment Permit is open for listed occupations at EUR 40,904 or more; the General permit has a salary floor, a labour market test and a 50:50 workforce rule

How long does it take?

Timeline not published by the authority. DETE publishes no average processing time. It publishes the date of applications currently being processed (CSEP 24 October 2026, new GEP 2 October 2026, as of 6 November 2026) and requires applications at least 12 weeks before the start date. Visa and Stamp 4 timing is NOT VERIFIED.

How much does it cost?

The published costs on this page are in different currencies, so there is no single total. Items that are not in that total, such as proof of funds or later permit fees, are labelled on this page where our sources state them.

Where to go next