Skip to the main content

HomeEmployed professionalIrelandElectrical engineer

Electrical engineer in Ireland

Preview — under verificationNo. 1 of 6 in Ireland's official demand list · Page last reviewed in full: 2026-11-07. Most recent source check: 2026-11-07. A recent source check does not mean every requirement on the page was re-read on that date.

Electrical engineers appear on the list, some only in specified specialisms (unranked).

Source for this ranking: DETE — Critical Skills Occupations List (effective 13 May 2026, SI 213 of 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

The route for this occupation

Critical Skills Employment Permit (CSEP)

Preview — under verification

For listed shortage occupations or very high pay; no labour market test; Stamp 4 after 21 months of employment; employer must meet the 50:50 rule.

Ireland names electrical engineer at No. 1 of 6 in its own shortage analysis. That is a ranking, and a ranking is not a job offer. It indicates demand in that analysis; it does not mean that you will be hired.

Language level not stated in our sourcesNo recognition required by lawTimeline not published by the authorityNo single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies

Source: DETE — Critical Skills Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Government unveils roadmap for gradual increase in employment permit salary thresholds (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-12-02; Government or public body) · DETE — Critical Skills Occupations List (effective 13 May 2026, SI 213 of 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Current processing dates for employment permits (as of 6 November 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-06; Government or public body) · ISD — Information on Stamp 4 upgrades for Employment Permit and Hosting Agreement holders (page modified 25 February 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · ISD — Update to eligibility requirements for Stamp 4 upgrades (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2024-04-03; Government or public body)

What do you need?

Language, recognition and route requirements, in that order.

  1. 1

    The language

    Our sources do not state a language level for this permit itself. That does not mean you will be hired without the language — it means the level is not a legal condition of the permit.

  2. 2

    Documented evidence of your qualification

    Formal recognition is not required by law for this path. You will still need documented evidence of your training and experience, and the assessor may ask for training records as well as the certificate.

  3. 3

    Requirements listed for the Critical Skills Employment Permit

    These are the conditions the source lists for this route. A missing item can stop the application, so check each one against the official page.

    • Job offer of at least two years (shorter offers fall under the General permit)
    • Occupation on the Critical Skills Occupations List and pay of at least EUR 40,904 a year with a relevant degree (EUR 36,848 if the qualification was gained within 12 months before applying)
    • Otherwise pay of at least EUR 68,911 a year, in an occupation not on the Ineligible List
    • Public-sector pay agreements set the pay level where one applies
    • At least 50% of the employer's workforce must be EEA nationals at application (some supported start-ups waived)
    • Apply at least 12 weeks before the proposed start date

Source: DETE — Critical Skills Occupations List (effective 13 May 2026, SI 213 of 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Critical Skills Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Government unveils roadmap for gradual increase in employment permit salary thresholds (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-12-02; Government or public body) · DETE — Current processing dates for employment permits (as of 6 November 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-06; Government or public body) · ISD — Information on Stamp 4 upgrades for Employment Permit and Hosting Agreement holders (page modified 25 February 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · ISD — Update to eligibility requirements for Stamp 4 upgrades (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2024-04-03; Government or public body)

How long it takes

Timeline not published by the authority

DETE publishes no average processing time. It publishes the date of applications currently being processed (CSEP 24 October 2026, new GEP 2 October 2026, as of 6 November 2026) and requires applications at least 12 weeks before the start date. Visa and Stamp 4 timing is NOT VERIFIED.

What it costs

Published costs for Ireland on this track. The largest listed item is csep application fee.

CSEP application fee

90% refunded if unsuccessful; the employer may not recover the fee from the employee.

Source: DETE — Critical Skills Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

EUR 1,000Employer pays
GEP application fee (6 to 24 months)

EUR 500 for 6 months or less, EUR 1,000 for 6 to 24 months. Renewal EUR 750 or EUR 1,500.

Source: DETE — General Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body)

EUR 500 to EUR 1,000Employer pays
Total of the listed costs (partial budget)No single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies

The government fee for the Critical Skills Employment Permit is EUR 1,000.

What changes because of where you are from

We do not yet publish passport-specific document steps for Ireland. Check the issuing authority’s page for the passport you will use.

What do you do first?

Get your qualification documents assessed. That is the item that runs longest and gates everything after it. Then work through the route requirements above, one line at a time.

Compare this against your other option

Most people are choosing between two things. This shows the two side by side on the lines that differ.

Electrical engineer in Ireland, against something else

Identical on every line we publish

Side one

Side two

Route statusSame both sides

Whether the country is taking new applicants from overseas right now.

Ireland · Electrical engineer
Open — Critical Skills Employment Permit
Ireland · Software engineer
Open — Critical Skills Employment Permit
Language levelSame both sides

The longest item on anybody's list. It decides your start date more than the visa does.

Ireland · Electrical engineer
Not stated in our sources
Ireland · Software engineer
Not stated in our sources
Qualification recognitionSame both sides

If recognition is required by law, you cannot work in the job until it is finished.

Ireland · Electrical engineer
Not required by law
Ireland · Software engineer
Not required by law
Money to budgetSame both sides

What the published cost list adds up to. Alternatives, employer-paid fees and money you only have to show or that comes back to you are not added.

Ireland · Electrical engineer
No single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies
Ireland · Software engineer
No single total: the figures are alternatives, paid by someone else, not yet verified, or in different currencies
Realistic timelineSame both sides

Start to arrival, as the official timeline note states it. Not the visa stamp alone.

Ireland · Electrical engineer
Timeline not published by the authority
Ireland · Software engineer
Timeline not published by the authority
Place in the demand listSame both sides

Where this sits in the country's own official shortage analysis.

Ireland · Electrical engineer
No. 1 of 6
Ireland · Software engineer
No. 1 of 6

“Lower bar” means fewer requirements or less time or money on that one line only. It is not advice on which is better for you. Money and timeline figures are the whole published range for that country and track, not for this path alone.

Sources: DETE — Critical Skills Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Government unveils roadmap for gradual increase in employment permit salary thresholds (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-12-02; Government or public body) · DETE — Critical Skills Occupations List (effective 13 May 2026, SI 213 of 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Current processing dates for employment permits (as of 6 November 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-06; Government or public body) · ISD — Information on Stamp 4 upgrades for Employment Permit and Hosting Agreement holders (page modified 25 February 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · ISD — Update to eligibility requirements for Stamp 4 upgrades (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2024-04-03; Government or public body)

Compare two published visa routes

Profile: Employed professional. Compare the actual route requirements below. Each fee keeps its published currency; no combined total or cheapest-route ranking is calculated.

Ireland · Critical Skills Employment Permit
Preview — under verification

Published route status: open. This destination remains a research preview; the route is not independently confirmed.

For listed shortage occupations or very high pay; no labour market test; Stamp 4 after 21 months of employment; employer must meet the 50:50 rule.

Requirements
Route-specific government fee

EUR 1,000 · charging unit not stated

Source: DETE — Critical Skills Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Government unveils roadmap for gradual increase in employment permit salary thresholds (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-12-02; Government or public body) · DETE — Critical Skills Occupations List (effective 13 May 2026, SI 213 of 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Current processing dates for employment permits (as of 6 November 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-06; Government or public body) · ISD — Information on Stamp 4 upgrades for Employment Permit and Hosting Agreement holders (page modified 25 February 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · ISD — Update to eligibility requirements for Stamp 4 upgrades (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2024-04-03; Government or public body)

Government fee only, not a route budget. Profile-level financial ranges above are reference information and are not attributed to either visa route.

Route sources: DETE — Critical Skills Employment Permit (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Employment Permits Minimum Annual Remuneration (outcome of roadmap review 2025) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Government unveils roadmap for gradual increase in employment permit salary thresholds (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2025-12-02; Government or public body) · DETE — Critical Skills Occupations List (effective 13 May 2026, SI 213 of 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · DETE — Current processing dates for employment permits (as of 6 November 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2026-11-06; Government or public body) · ISD — Information on Stamp 4 upgrades for Employment Permit and Hosting Agreement holders (page modified 25 February 2026) (checked 2026-11-07; Government or public body) · ISD — Update to eligibility requirements for Stamp 4 upgrades (checked 2026-11-07; document dated 2024-04-03; Government or public body)

Germany · EU Blue Card
Open

A residence permit for university graduates with a qualifying job offer above a set salary threshold.

Requirements
Route-specific government fee

Not verified for this route. A missing amount is not zero.

Government fee only, not a route budget. Profile-level financial ranges above are reference information and are not attributed to either visa route.

Route sources: Make it in Germany — EU Blue Card (Federal Government portal) (checked 2026-11-03) · § 18g AufenthG — EU Blue Card salary thresholds (Federal Office of Justice) (checked 2026-11-03)

Quick answers

Can I work as an electrical engineer in Ireland?

For listed shortage occupations or very high pay; no labour market test; Stamp 4 after 21 months of employment; employer must meet the 50:50 rule.

How long does it take?

Timeline not published by the authority. DETE publishes no average processing time. It publishes the date of applications currently being processed (CSEP 24 October 2026, new GEP 2 October 2026, as of 6 November 2026) and requires applications at least 12 weeks before the start date. Visa and Stamp 4 timing is NOT VERIFIED.

How much does it cost?

The published costs on this page are in different currencies, so there is no single total.

Where to go next

Also searched as

  • electronics engineer
  • power engineer