Skip to the main content

HomeStudentGermany

Germany for student

OpenLast checked 2026-11-03

Open and growing. The money test is the real test.

Germany has no tuition fees at most public universities, which is why it is now the fastest-growing study destination for Indian students while Canada, the UK and Australia contract. That does not make it cheap: you must prove roughly a year of living costs in a blocked account before the visa, and that is where most applications actually fail. The second route, Ausbildung, is badly understood outside Germany — it is paid vocational training, not study, and the German-language requirement is real. Note that the number of non-EU people entering Ausbildung each year is far smaller than the headline apprenticeship numbers suggest.

Where you stand

Make this page about you

1. What is your study path?
2. Which country are you applying from?

4 study paths are named in Germany's official demand list, ranked below.

What Germany wants, in its own order

This order is the official shortage analysis, not our opinion. The source is linked under the list.

1

Master's degree

Most public universities charge no tuition fee, which is why Germany is growing while the English-speaking destinations contract.

Language level not stated in our sourcesNo recognition required by law
2

Ausbildung (vocational training)

Germany has tens of thousands of unfilled apprenticeship places, but the number of non-EU entrants each year is far smaller than that headline implies. Treat it as a real but narrow door.

Language B1No recognition required by law
3

Nursing Ausbildung

Nursing training is one of Germany's largest shortage categories and leads directly to a regulated profession.

Language B2No recognition required by law
4

Bachelor's degree

Most non-EU school qualifications do not grant direct entry. A preparatory year at a Studienkolleg is usually required first — budget for it.

Language level not stated in our sourcesNo recognition required by law

Ranking source: Federal Foreign Office — opening and closing a blocked bank account (checked 2026-11-03) · Study.eu — reported student blocked-account amount (commercial portal, cites no source) (checked 2026-11-03)

Check if you qualify — free, no sign-up

The routes

Each route below is a separate permit with its own hard requirements. Failing any one requirement means that route is closed to you, however strong the rest of your case is.

Student visa (Visum zu Studienzwecken)

Open

A residence permit for degree study at a German university, with the right to work part-time and to stay on afterwards to find work.

Who this is for

  • People with a school or bachelor qualification that Germany recognises
  • People who can show a year of living costs up front

You must have every one of these

  • University admission, or admission to a preparatory course (Studienkolleg)
  • Proof of financial resources: about EUR 11,904 in a blocked account, released at roughly EUR 992 per month
  • Language proof as required by your programme — German for German-taught courses, English for English-taught ones
  • Health insurance
How long it lastsFor the duration of your studies, with a post-study job search period afterwards.Work allowedPart-time work alongside study, within the limits set for students.

Source: Federal Foreign Office — opening and closing a blocked bank account (checked 2026-11-03) · Study.eu — reported student blocked-account amount (commercial portal, cites no source) (checked 2026-11-03)

Vocational training (Ausbildung) (Berufsausbildung)

Open

Paid dual training with an employer, combining work and classroom study, leading to a recognised German qualification.

Who this is for

  • School leavers who want a trade qualification Germany recognises from day one
  • People who would rather be paid to train than pay to study

You must have every one of these

  • A training contract with a German employer
  • German language, usually B1 or B2 depending on the trade and the employer
  • Recognised school qualification
How long it lastsTypically two to three and a half years, followed by work rights in the trade.Work allowedYou are paid a training wage throughout.

Source: Make it in Germany — Opportunity Card (Federal Government portal) (checked 2026-11-03)

What it actually costs

National visa fee

The same EUR 75 whichever route you apply on. Minors pay half. The residence permit issued after you arrive costs up to EUR 100 more.

Source: Federal Foreign Office — visa fees (checked 2026-11-03)

EUR 75You pay
Blocked account (proof of funds)

Your own money, released at about EUR 992 per month after arrival. Not a fee. Confirm the current figure with your embassy before transferring.

Source: Federal Foreign Office — opening and closing a blocked bank account (checked 2026-11-03) · Study.eu — reported student blocked-account amount (commercial portal, cites no source) (checked 2026-11-03)

EUR 11,904You pay
Semester contribution (most public universities)

Charged per semester in place of tuition. Usually includes a local transport pass.

Source: Federal Foreign Office — opening and closing a blocked bank account (checked 2026-11-03) · Study.eu — reported student blocked-account amount (commercial portal, cites no source) (checked 2026-11-03)

EUR 150 to EUR 400You pay
German course to B1 (required for Ausbildung, optional for English-taught degrees)

Source: Make it in Germany — Opportunity Card (Federal Government portal) (checked 2026-11-03)

EUR 1,500 to EUR 5,000You pay
Total to budgetEUR 13,629 to EUR 17,379

Where a blocked account appears above, that is your own money and it comes back to you monthly after arrival. It is not a fee to anyone. No agent needs to hold it for you.

How long it really takes

9 to 24 months

Admission cycles, not visas, set the pace. Application deadlines fall months before intake, document attestation takes weeks, and visa appointment waits in India have run long. Start 12 to 18 months before the intake you want.

Compare before you commit

Two study paths, or Germany against another country, on the lines that actually differ.

Compare two study paths

2 of 6 lines differ

Side one

Side two

Language level

The longest item on anybody's list. It decides your start date more than the visa does.

🇩🇪 Germany · Master's degree
Not stated in our sources

Many master's programmes are taught in English. You can be admitted with no German at all — and then struggle to find part-time work or stay on afterwards without it.

🇩🇪 Germany · Ausbildung (vocational training)
B1

German at B1 or B2 is the hard requirement here. Ausbildung is taught and worked entirely in German.

Place in the demand list

Where this sits in the country's own official shortage analysis.

🇩🇪 Germany · Master's degreeLower bar
No. 1 of 4
🇩🇪 Germany · Ausbildung (vocational training)
No. 2 of 4
Route statusSame both sides

Whether the country is taking new applicants from overseas right now.

🇩🇪 Germany · Master's degree
Open — Student visa
🇩🇪 Germany · Ausbildung (vocational training)
Open — Student visa
Qualification recognitionSame both sides

If recognition is required by law, you cannot work in the job until it is finished.

🇩🇪 Germany · Master's degree
Not required by law
🇩🇪 Germany · Ausbildung (vocational training)
Not required by law
Money to budgetSame both sides

Everything the published cost list adds up to, including deposits that come back to you.

🇩🇪 Germany · Master's degree
EUR 13,629 to EUR 17,379
🇩🇪 Germany · Ausbildung (vocational training)
EUR 13,629 to EUR 17,379
Realistic timelineSame both sides

Start to arrival, as the official timeline note states it. Not the visa stamp alone.

🇩🇪 Germany · Master's degree
9 to 24 months
🇩🇪 Germany · Ausbildung (vocational training)
9 to 24 months

“Lower bar” means fewer requirements or less time or money on that one line only. It is not advice on which is better for you. Money and timeline figures are the whole published range for that country and track, not for this path alone.

Sources: Federal Foreign Office — opening and closing a blocked bank account (checked 2026-11-03) · Study.eu — reported student blocked-account amount (commercial portal, cites no source) (checked 2026-11-03) · Anerkennung in Deutschland — recognition statistics 2024 (checked 2026-11-03)

Is this route real? The numbers

Published flow figures, so you can see the route is used and not just written down.

About 71,000, up 14%

Qualification recognition applications in 2024

Source: Anerkennung in Deutschland — recognition statistics 2024 (checked 2026-11-03)

Where to go next

Find out where you actually stand

Free, no sign-up, no email. It is built from the official requirements on this page. If the answer is no, it says no and tells you the fastest thing you can change.

Start the check